Wednesdays Are For Dad

img_3237 A few weeks after starting my part time job, I started visiting my dad on Wednesdays and we sort of developed a routine. I go over around lunch, we eat, either at his house or out somewhere, we go back and play a few games of pool (more like 10!) and then somewhere in there, I help him fold his laundry. Just a few hours, but they have become important for both of us. Now that my mom is gone, we need each other more than ever and, besides Sunday dinner, this is a block of time reserved for each other. We have become quite comfy with this routine and the hardest part of it is trying to decide where to go for lunch! Today was to a local Chinese restaurant that we have both grown fond of. We end up getting three meals out of it because, with my eating a mostly Paleo diet, he always gets my egg roll, rice, and whatever of his entree he doesn’t finish, not bad for around $11.

Sure, I do other things on Wednesday as well, but I look forward to our afternoons together and I’m sure it’s a break for him as well from the monotony of another day spent mostly alone, save his old chocolate lab named Sophie. Technically, she was my mom’s, but he loves her just as much. My oldest son lives with him as well, however, he works all day during the week and doesn’t see him much. Some weeks I see him more, some less, but now, we always have our Wednedsays. Oh, and as for that fortune I got today, I ain’t buyin it…unless the numbers on the back are the same ones I got on my lottery ticket, and it wins. Fat luck!!

4 Replies to “Wednesdays Are For Dad”

  1. I wish that everyone would do that where they set aside time to spend with their loved ones! I commend you! I know that means the world to him! This is something that crosses my mind for me as I get older and my physical disability keeps progressing. With me having no children or husband I wonder, but I am not going to claim anything because I am just going to cross that bridge when I get to it so to speak!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

