Where is Your Zen?

image

When I walked out on my patio this morning, I was wishing I could just sit here and enjoy the cool for a while and listen to the birds sing while enjoying my coffee. Alas, That was not to be, since Thursday is one of my work days. That’s cool though, I love my job. It was 75 degrees though, and I knew it would be brief since the projected high for today was 99!

Later on in the day, it hit me that I neglected to mention in my post yesterday that it would have been my mom’s 85th birthday, something that had been on my mind all day. Maybe I was protecting my family from being sad or maybe I put up my own mental block, I don’t know. Anyway, Dad and I know what all the significant days are but neither of us mention it. We all have our own ways of coping with loss and I guess ours is just being together for each other. It might be my need to heal or mother but I have to say, it is always tempting to say something, I’m always afraid he will think I’m forgetting-as if I could…ever. But I don’t, because I don’t want to make him cry and he is still very emotional, of course.

This evening, when I got home, I walked back out there again and realized I’m creating an oasis of sorts, a peaceful place to relax and reflect, tropical in decor, zen in my mind. At least when it’s not being used for the main purpose, which is entertaining family and friends. I look forward to a long holiday weekend, no matter what we do, and I hope everyone reading has a safe, happy 4th of July! Tell me your plans, what or where is your happy place? Is it a physical place or a place you go to in your mind? Feel free to comment below, I look forward to hearing all about it!

Care to comment?

