We’re Gonna Party On The Patio!


Happy 4th of July everyone! I want to wish all of you a safe and fun Independence Day!

Here at my house, we plan on a good day with friends and family, lots of food and pool time…if the sun comes back out! Last night into this morning, we had intense thunderstorms but the projected temp is 95 and sunshine, so it should be fine later today.

When we moved into this new home, this monument was a part of the corner garden, I thought it was appropriate to share as part of my post today. We love it and decided to keep it there. My husband and I both served in the military as did many of our family members, so we think it fits!

  • image

I also want to thank those who served and died for our independence and those who continue to do so.

Yesterday, we went to visit my mother and husband’s father at DFW National Cemetery, a beautiful place to memorialize vets and their spouses. They were both cremated, as we have both decided to be as well, and so they were placed in a wall instead of in the ground.

image

My dad is the veteran, so his name is placed above Mom’s so that when he passes, he will be interred with her. They are called columbariums.

image

It was a perfect way to spend part of our holiday weekend, remembering our loved ones and taking the time to visit them. My youngest son had never been out there and I was glad he came with us to experience it.

Now, we are gearing up for this afternoon’s festivities, clean up, prepare the food and maybe even decorate a little. If not, hey, at least we have our flag out!! My husband even trimmed the bushes up to make the backyard more presentable. He works hard around here, that’s for sure.

image

This is just one section of hedges, but I like this shot showing the pool and patio.

Tell me how you all spend your fourth and what is important to you this extended holiday weekend. Comment below or shoot me an email and we’ll talk about it.

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re Gonna Party On The Patio!

  1. It is all about watching baseball for me this afternoon!!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

