Church, Family and Big Brother

I don’t know about y’all, but Sundays around our house follow a kind of routine. For me,    it begins with my cup of coffee, bulletproof of course, and my favorite program of the morning, CBS Sunday Morning with Charles Osgood. It’s a nationally syndicated news magazine with entertaining news, profiles of famous people, art and more. Then, most Sundays I go to church. Since being back in the area, it’s been harder than usual to select a home church, however, I am fond of the one I’ve been going to, First United Methodist of Watauga. We have moved around a lot in our 31 years of marriage, and we became Methodists early on, my husband having been raised Southern Baptist and me a Catholic, we decided to compromise and become Methodists. This morning was cool because the front of the church was all decorated up for VBS which started tonight.

image

My friends I normally sit with were absent, that didn’t bother me though because I always feel welcomed from the moment I walk in the front door. I missed seeing them still because I like having them to talk to and visit with.

Next in the lineup is usually prep and planning of family dinner, this Sunday was a little different though, because we had predetermined what the menu was and my brother in law offered to cook the meat. That left us with less prep and more pool time, yea! We were down a few members today but still had a full house and a good meal. My idea when we first moved back was that we would rotate houses for family dinner, but since  we have a pool and more room, and my brother works crazy hours with little time to do much else, and my dad’s house is kind of small for up to 11 people eating together, it has been at our house most of the time since summer started. We used to go to my brother in law’s place a lot but he has also been deluged with a full and hectic schedule, so we hate to ask him to work any harder. It has been wonderful having the whole family together at least once a week to break bread and we don’t mind at all. It’s a great tradition and I hope it stays part of our routine.

Tonight was another edition of Big Brother, one of my favorite summertime shows and I’ve heard from at least one other blogger, I’m not alone in this! My friend Stephanie watches as well so we always have that to talk about on Monday or Thursday, depending on show times. Tonight, I was surprised to see a budding romance between James and the houseguest with the dark hair (jeez, I forgot her name already). This will be a topic of conversation between myself and the other blogger (Myra) that I’ve been talking to. We were just wondering the other day why he didn’t have a girlfriend yet when he is so personable and cute.

So, there you have it, now you know my routine for several days of the week if you’ve been following along, what are yours? Go ahead and leave a comment and tell me your routines, fav shows or whatever you want to talk about. I’ll be waiting, on the patio😉.

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Church, Family and Big Brother

  1. Haha..I can’t remember her name either. She’s a dancer and a cheer leader and a personal event planner..is it Natilee? She said she would date him. Poor Paul and Bronte, up on the block again. Frank will be caught and tossed out the door soon…or I hope. Road kill was so easy, what’s wrong with these people..lol Come on Power of Veto..let’s have Bronte win it 🙂
    I don’t watch them on Pop, my son says they act like a bunch of drunk high school kids.
    This patio is amazing, next time I will bring brownies with me..lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie says:

    I have seen BB after dark once on Pop, and once was enough! It is slower than watching the grass grow! I do not have a pool, however I did go sit out side to read. I enjoyed the breeze! I am off to bed for now! Rolling on!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

