What’s Your Inspiration?

I made a commitment to write every day and I’m really trying to stick to it. Which is why, even though I had nothing planned or thought out, I’m writing anyway. Some people use an editorial calendar, I never thought this would be that kind of blog. We were supposed to be able to talk about whatever, so I didn’t think it was necessary, it was a kind of off the cuff kind of thing. Still, I guess everyone has those days when inspiration just isn’t there, no fresh ideas come to the frontal lobe, whatever. I could use a word prompt, but that’s really for storytelling.

Thing is, if you want to be a better writer, you have to practice, part of that practice is getting into the habit of writing every day. Now, I made sure I’d have to write something every day by purchasing a 5 year sentence journal. The idea is, you write a sentence from a prompt on a calendar every day, the next year you do the same, from the same prompts. Then you can see where you have come in your journey. That is all fine and good, but that doesn’t get me to a certain word count every day, or increase my writing speed. If I want to be a successful writer, blogger, copywriter or whatever kind of freelance writer it is, I’ll need to do all those things and more. One day I may want to write a book, I used to think about it a lot when I was younger. Right now, I just want to freelance, because that gives me the freedom to write what I want, when I want. I’ve only been working hard at this for a year, in that time, I’ve studied a lot, written many different things,  but still have no business plan per say. I only know that I want to write about things I know and like.

I, like many others, suffer from the not-knowing-if -I’m -good-enough syndrome, however, I keep writing. I’m confident that with enough practice and commitment, I’ll eventually get there. The only pressure I’m under is that I put on myself, there’s no rush to make this dream a reality tomorrow, yet I know that if I worked really hard, I could help my family fulfill their dreams sooner. If I could make enough money to do that, wouldn’t that be awesome? I’ll keep ya posted, goodnight for now.

 

 

Care to comment?

