Reflecting and Relaxing

Tonight, while sitting on the patio waiting for some rain that never came, I was trying to calm myself after yet another failed attempt at designing my writer’s website. I was going to try to follow along as Bamidele teaches us how to Earn Your First $1000 as a Freelance Writer, however, my website is frozen at the moment-possibly due to a security issue. Anyway, long story short, I’m at my wits end with it now.

Earlier, although it has been Africa hot here, the clouds helped lower temps to the point that being on the patio with the fan on was actually comfortable. Now that I’m finally relaxed with a glass of wine, I figure I’ll deal with all that other stress tomorrow, or whenever the security issue gets fixed. The website has been in place since March after all, and has yet to be designed. It can wait another day or two.

I’d rather talk about my other writing I did today, like how I submitted a poem I revised to Eskimo Pie, in hopes that I’d be published somewhere. Yeah, I know, it’s not my usual thing, but I like to write creatively as well as for business. I’ve written short stories and dream of writing a book someday too. All of this writing is good practice for would-be copywriters so….I don’t feel guilty at all. I also wrote a 50 word story for a mag that takes those but can’t submit until after the 1st of the month. Annnnd, I sent a query for yet another piece I wrote, asking if they would even consider it for their site. I need to have more productive days like this, it gives me a sense of accomplishment that maybe I’m getting somewhere, slowly but surely. I’ll let you all know how I got on, in the meantime, what is your hope and dream for your writing? I hope you all had a good day and feel good about what work you got done.

And to think, I was originally going to talk about my newest favorite snack cracker! What evs., this felt so much better! Writing is therapeutic! The more you do it, the better you feel. If you really want to know what that cracker is, join me tomorrow, from the patio! Nite! 😴

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflecting and Relaxing

  1. I will bring the ice tea and we can chat. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Writing is very therapeutic for me as well! I am wanting to get going and writing my story about living with my physical disability as I think it will definitely be a win-win situation for me. Not only could I possibly help someone else but it will help me! Finding time for that is a another story. Right now I am working toward writing a travel journal about my travels, and the crazy things that happened along the way! I have learned that laughter is the Best medicine! And I would join you for that iced tea with Myra! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

