So…the Crackers

image

This is my breakfast from today. This is how I normally eat, homemade, whole foods for the most part. Lately however, maybe because I feel good and I’m at a healthy weight I think it’s ok, maybe because I’m giving in to some cravings, I don’t know, but I’ve been enjoying some snacks from Van’s brand foods. I know, here come the Paleo police, but, hang on! In moderation, I don’t see the harm.

My favorite of these delicious treats are the crackers they call The Perfect 10. Normally gluten free snacks taste like unsalted cardboard to me but not these, in fact, everything I’ve tasted from this company tastes awesome! I’ve tried about 3 different flavors of cereal and a couple of cracker flavors. These Perfect 10 crackers though, these are the bomb!! Hey, at least I eat them with guacamole, a healthy dip, or hummus, another healthy dip! Thing of it is though, they are fantabulous all by themselves!!

image

 

I actually wrote an entire article about them today-when it’s published I’ll send you the link, but the short of it is, they are made from grains and seeds and they are gluten free, non-GMO, they provide fiber, vitamins and nutrients so….they aren’t the most evil snack, just enjoy them in moderation! Now, when I was more of a Paleo purist, I wouldn’t touch them with a 10 ft pole. Only because I was taught you don’t eat anything from a box or a bag. Which is true, if you want to lose weight (which I don’t anymore) or if you have celiac or gluten issues (but these are ok for those people too!)

So, the “skinny” is, these crackers get my vote for a once in a while treat!

Now it’s your turn, what’s your favorite healthy snack? Got a comment or want to share some (friendly) advice? You know what to do! Talk to ya later, next time I’m on the patio!

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living theirโ€‹ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So…the Crackers

  1. QuintessentialEditor says:

    It’s 2 am here and I’m starving. Now I know what to stock my pantry with for those late night cravings!

    I don’t know how healthy it is, but I really like cutting up bell peppers (red, green, and yellow ones) and eating them with spicy red-pepper hummus. I also chow down on cucumbers like this. I like to think the hummus is at least healthier than dressing.

    I’m going to go rummage through the pantry now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      Oh, than we share a common bond because that’s the kind of hummus I like too! I like to eat baby carrots also with the hummus. You can find Van’s in the gluten free section at Walmart or some health food stores like Sprouts. I hope you found a good snack! Happy writing and thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

