A Very Productive Trip

image This weekend we were lucky enough to be invited to go with my brother-in-law and his wife on a five hour fishing trip. Last night we checked into motel hell, which was next to the grill/bait shop/check in spot for booking the trips. This place was bad enough to mention it to our wonderful fishing guide Jarod later in the day, who told us he wished he would have known, he would have recommended different accommodations. Oh well, live and learn right? Anyway, upon deciding to retire for the evening, we peel back the bedspread (I knew it was going to be bad when I noticed the sheets underneath were visibly wrinkled) only to find live ants crawling around on the sheets! After a vigorous shaking did not seem to make the filthy things much better, we pulled the spread back up and slept on top of it under two blankets we found in the “closet”. It’s a wonder we fell asleep worrying about whether ants would decide to crawl in our ears but somehow we managed it.

image This morning, a short walk to the dock revealed a beautiful sunrise and I just knew right then it was going to be a good day. Turns out, it was a great one! After loading up, we headed out on to the lake and got ready for an epic day of fishing hybrids. Hybrids are a cross between sand bass and striper and proved to be a blast to catch.

image Our trusty guide Jarod was so friendly, capable and personable, he made the trip very enjoyable indeed. He put us on fish at our very first stop and the action started immediately with yours truly netting the first catch (but certainly not the last) of the day!

image image Soon, there were more to follow, and at one point we had 3 in the net at one time. In five hours we caught our limit plus several throwbacks, including catfish and sand bass.

image image Here, my sister-in-law is working the pole with Jarod patiently waiting to scoop that baby into the net. Not sure who’s fish he’s holding in the next pic because I lost count of how many each of us caught, although I believe I had somewhere between 8-10 caught (not every one a keeper though) and Connie caught the largest one and couldn’t be beat all day long, although I gave it all I had trying!

image Of course, there was plenty of down time as well but I tried to take advantage of these times by taking cool pics like this one showing the sun on the water and a pole just waiting for the next victim to strike it. After it was all said and done, we went back to the dock where he was kind enough to clean and fillet our cooler full of fish. As the guys were watching and waiting to pay him, thank him and tip him for a fantastic experience, Connie and I took a walk down to the water to see if there were any treasures to be had. She is famous for finding things she can use in her crafting like old pieces of driftwood, shells or even old rusty hooks and such. One never knows when such items will come in handy, either for decoration or crafting purposes. Trust me, I have picked up a fair amount of shells in my day as well. Not today though. We did spot this pretty marsh plant complete with a butterfly and she kindly shared the pic with me.

image Aside from not having the best eating experience that we’ve ever had, the awesome fishing made the whole day worth every penny we spent. All of the sun and a tasty beverage from hours ago (the best part of lunch btw) have got this girl beat, so this here angler needs to leave the heat of the patio and go find a comfy couch and some boxed air.

image I almost forgot the best pics of the day!!

image image

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Very Productive Trip

  1. A fairly confirmed city girl, I’ve never been a fan of the sport of fishing myself — but the down time sounds wonderful, and I adore fresh fish for dinner! The motel sounded dreadful! I guess that’s why the travel stores sell those sheets that are sewn together like sleeping bags. Great pics!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Very Productive Trip - Kim Smyth

Care to comment?

