Day 6-Free Days

This is my blog and I hereby declare that weekends I’m free to write whatever I want-that being said, I’m still going to give y’all a recipe, this one is for our furry friends though. I make them for mine sometimes, when I have extra time. Most of the time however, I make a simpler, quick treat that they love just as much. These are made with natural ingredients we could eat ourselves, if we were so inclined. Enjoy!

image

I “borrowed” this from a post on Instructables.com and she just called them sweet potato treats.

1 sweet potato

2 1/2 cups brown rice flour

1/4 unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs

Basically, you mix everything in a large bowl and roll a small amount into a ball. It’s time consuming, but they love em, and they are good for them-they provide fiber, protein, iron, niacin, and Viatmin A. That can be modified by adding dried blueberries or changing the type of flour, I prefer brown rice flour because it’s inexpensive and better for them than wheat.

image

Preheat oven to 350 and bake until crisp, about 35-45 minutes.

(You could bake a sweet potato and use that after its cooled down but I cheat and buy containers of baby food sweet potatoes to save time) Sue me, but I find lots of ways to save time in the kitchen since I do a lot of food prep.

I hope you try these for your fur babies to use as rewards or treats, mine get one at least twice a day! Since I know what is going in them, I can feel good about giving them to my Shorkies. Have a great weekend everyone, stay cool by watching the Olympics, if that’s your thing! I might watch a little, but I prefer to write, swim or catch an oldie but goodie in the movie dept. While my guys are off suffering the heat on the golf course, I’m in here staying cool, writing to you and catching Cold Mountain on Cinemax while also catching up on laundry. Later, I’m sure I’ll retire to the pool for a refreshing dip and possibly a nice beverage. 😉

Please don’t forget about helping me reach my goal for the upcoming PKD Walk. I appreciate whatever you can do or give, you can donate at the website: www.walkforpdk.org. Thanks again for visiting me here on the patio!

 

 

2 Replies to “Day 6-Free Days”

Care to comment?

