Day 7-Tax Free-Not For Me!

Happy Sunday everyone and I want to give thanks and welcome all my new followers!

Although I don’t have school age kids, my youngest son was in need of some new duds for work, so part of today’s shopping adventure took us by Grapevine Mills Mall. I guess since it is sort of the center of the metroplex explains why it has become like the melting pot of America in one huge mall. You can see people of every race, color and creed, all wandering around seemingly aimlessly, oblivious of those around them like zombies with sensory overload! It’s all too much man.

There is really only one place my youngest can find shorts and pants to fit him, that store being Aeropostle. Upon entering this place, not only did we notice it was 60 percent off today, but it was also tax-free weekend and literally everyone wanted to buy their back-to-school clothes here! I actually served as his place holder in line while he scurried around the store, grabbing what he needed and taking my place in line. Had it been me, I would have seen the line-which wrapped around one complete side of the store, and turned around and walked out. He was determined though, and to his credit, came out a winner, saving money and with a smile on his face, having struck up a conversation with the beautiful check out girl. I was impressed that he made it so gracefully and scored three pair of shorts and two shirts for $60. Yesterday, he also got a pair of shorts and a couple of shirts at Academy, so now he’s set for a while. I guess we were too absorbed in witty banter to notice if it was tax free, plus we were clueless to that fact before today. Again, not having kids in school anymore, sometimes I hear these things are going on and forget I heard it five minutes later.

Anyway, back to the mall, once we were done with that experience, we couldn’t get out of there fast enough. We had previously been to The Dump-a huge off price furniture store, and struck out looking for a new mattress that was supposed to be on sale, and before that Fryes, where I picked up one of those trendy Ped-Egg Roller things-can’t wait til I get some batteries so I can use that baby on my sandal roughened feet! I also got a new 6 ft lightening cord for our iPhones, can’t have too many of those, and my son got a new phone charger as well. So, it wasn’t that the trip was fruitless, just crowded and kind of frustrating with all of the self absorbed folks walking around, so thick at the mall you practically needed a plow to push your way through. Plus the fact that no one seems to care about each other anymore, there’s no courtesy or manners and I can’t blame it all one one particular group or another, the young, old, every ethnicity was at fault here. Say what you will about Walmart, I’d rather deal with that place any day-even though I have no idea what it was like this weekend, since that’s not where we decided to shop.

Be nice out there folks, stay safe and hopefully you all had more pleasant tax-free story. Did anyone else get out into the throng this weekend? Share you story in the comments and let me know how you came out. Have a good night and see you tomorrow.

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 7-Tax Free-Not For Me!

  1. msgt3227 says:

    I didn’t do ANY shopping this weekend….I went backpacking with my bestie instead….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      Good for you! Evidently, it isn’t 105 where you live lol! Walking around the mall did get me over halfway to my step goal though!

      Liked by 1 person

      • msgt3227 says:

        We finally got a break in the humidity yesterday, and it was an oh so pleasant 80-something day, and got down into the 60’s last night! Actually crawled into my sleeping bag and covered up with my Woobie in the middle of the night! I will post about it tomorrow, btw… And for the record, even though you don’t have our humidity, I still am not thrilled about 105 degree weather! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kim Smyth says:

        Oh, lucky dog! I’d love to at least visit where the temps are like yours! I don’t mind the heat, as long as I can get in some water, lol. Luckily, we have a pool this time around. Can’t wait to find out what a Woobie is, lol!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you went to a Pokémon go stop! I never left my house today just staying in my sweats and relaxed! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      I believe there were quite a few Pokemon stops at several of the places we visited this weekend, including next to the place we ate last night! Chris can literally look at people walking around checking their phones and knows that’s what they’re doing, lol. Have you been watching any of the Olympics?

      Like

Care to comment?

