Day 14- Blame it on The Birds

Well, since Sunday is a “free subject day” deemed by myself, I was going to talk about another successful family dinner which pretty much turned into a meat party! We had ribs, chicken, boudin and sausage. That was going to be the topic of discussion until my husband turned on The Birds. It matters not how many times I’ve seen this classic movie by Hitchcock, I can’t take my eyes off the screen. I swear I notice something different every time I watch it. There’s just something about the imagery, those classic camera angles and the interaction between the characters, not to mention the brain that thought up this “could maybe really happen” tale to begin with. So many horror movies have attempted similar story lines, but none were as successful as his. Isn’t it easier to believe that birds could behave in such a way, than say, tarantulas taking over the earth? Back then, there wasn’t any reason given why such an occurrence would or could happen, such as, chemical or biological contamination. It was purely a freak of nature, never explained by Mr Hitchcock.

image

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I love the sound effects, the scenery and how Mitch is the brave hero and the women are portrayed and how we never gave a care about all that, it was exiting, mystical, sad, romantic and horrifying all at the same time. What a perfect way to wrap up a lovely Sunday, long after family went home and we were chillin on the couch following tonight’s episode of Big Brother. I’ll just have to catch up on all the Olympics action tomorrow. Until then, stay cool everyone, I know I will on the patio.

 

2 Replies to “Day 14- Blame it on The Birds”

  1. I did too but I guess it impacted me a different way, I grew up watching the old horror movies like Frankenstein and Dracula, Creature From the Black Lagoon and Godzilla. I was primed for this movie and it probably shaped me for the likes of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. I’ve mellowed since becoming older and my tastes and interests have changed, but I still enjoy classics like these.

    Like

Care to comment?

