Day 29-Product Week-Coconut Oil, Butter, Cinnamon

Sorry about last night’s post everyone. I was so tired and sick feeling, my brain was fried and it showed. I say let’s move on to today’s post and fuggetaboutit.😉

I have a theory about why I got sick in the first place while on vacation, could be wrong but here it is. I didn’t have a way to make my bulletproof coffee and my body missed those important ingredients like coconut oil, butter and cinnamon. I’ll tell you a little bit about each product and why I think it might have affected me.

image

As some of you may know from previous posts, bulletproof coffee is my morning staple and uses the ingredients mentioned above, the most important being coconut oil. Coconut oil contains lauric acid which has antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral properties. The body converts this into monolaurin which fights viruses, and bacteria like herpes, influenza, and even HIV. It also fights listeria, H.Pilori and giardia lamblia. So, without my immune system strengthener, I was vulnerable to infection. It is also a misconception that coconut oil is bad for the heart and makes you gain weight. In all actuality, it is beneficial for the heart because of the lauric acid it contains. This acid helps prevent high cholesterol, and reduces injury and and damage to arteries therefore preventing artherosclerosis, or hardening of the arteries.

I could talk about coconut oil and its uses and benefits all day but let’s move on to the goodness of grassfed butter, the second important ingredient in my coffee. I use Kerrygold brand butter because it is grassfed, pure creamery butter.

image image

Grassfed vs regular butter- Grassfed butter contains loads of Vitamin K2 which helps keep calcium out of the arteries, therefore also preventing artherosclerosis. Butter, egg yolks and goose liver are good sources of this important vitamin. It also is full of an anti-inflammatory fatty acid called butyrate. Since it fights inflammation in the arteries, it reduces heart disease. In countries like Australia where the cows are grass fed, people who ate the most high-fat dairy products have over 50% lower risk of death compared to those who ate the least. That’s why I use only Kerrygold in my diet. In coffee, on my baked sweet potatoes and my baked goods.

Lastly, cinnamon. image One of the oldest spices in the world, it has been used for centuries in countries like China and Egypt for its medicinal benefits and culinary enhancement. Of the two types of cinnamon, Ceylon and Cassia, Ceylon is preferred and offers a multitude of benefits. It is anti-microbial and and anti-clotting and can  boost brain function and helps keep a healthy colon, due to it’s richness in dietary fiber. One of the main reasons I use it, besides the great taste, is because it may stop the growth of harmful bacteria and fungi such as candida (which causes yeast infections).

The other reason I drink this coffee daily is because one cup sustains me all through the day because of the good fats it contains. I’m not picky about my coconut oil, as long as it’s unrefined, pure virgin, cold-pressed, I’m cool with it. I tend to go with the least expensive because I use a ton of it! I’m currently using Tropical Life Organic coconut oil because I can get a large container for ten or eleven bucks. It is unrefined, virgin and smells fantastic. I use Organic Ceylon cinnamon and I’ve found that at Sprouts.

So, yeah, I covered three products in one post because I felt I had to explain all the benefits of drinking bulletproof coffee. I’m positive that missing my beloved morning starter somehow contributed to this double whammy I have going on. After seeing the doctor this morning it was decided that I had a UTI or a possible kidney infection and an upper respiratory infection as well. Luckily, the medicine they gave me will knock out both of them!

I do hope you are inspired to try one or all three of the products mentioned here. Let me know if you do and how you use them in the comments. I look forward to hearing about it! Until tomorrow, when we talk about another product I love and swear by-Stevia. See you then!

 

sources: organicfacts.com, authoritynation.com, livestrong.com

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 29-Product Week-Coconut Oil, Butter, Cinnamon

  1. Great post 😀 we use butter instead of margarine for spreading on bread, coconut oil in baking and cinnamon in baking and as a topping for cereal and oatmeal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      That’s great! Do you use Kerrygold? And my friendly advice is, if you want all the benefits from cinnamon, do make the switch to Ceylon cinnamon. I use Simply Organic brand which is found at most health food stores. It’s a bit more, but you are getting mostly filler material-who knows what-in Cassia cinnamon. Let me know how you get on!

      Like

Care to comment?

