Day 30-Product Week- What’s Your Sweetener?

I have read countless articles on how addicting sugar is and how we need to stop consuming so much of it because, lets face it, it feeds cancer. That’s why I quit, not that I have cancer (that I know of) but why give it a reason to thrive if it’s there? Just saying. So today, I would like to tell you about my favorite sweetener and some others that are considered safe in small quantities if you’re living the Paleo lifestyle like myself.

image

 

While doing more research I discovered an article from Foodbabe.com that discusses the safety of this sweetener, and let me just say, she makes several great points and may have influenced my decision to change the brand I’m currently using to the one pictured above. I thought I was being a smart consumer by choosing any kind of stevia over table sugar and artificial sweeteners like Equal and Splenda. After reading her article however, I believe I’ll go with the one that has no additional ingredients like dextrose or chemicals. The closer to the real plant you can be, just like with food, the better you are. I could make a trip to Trader Joes or Sprouts and get some but I prefer the inside comforts today (still feeling the effects of my infection) so I may opt for ordering some from IHerb.com.

Other safe sugars, when eaten in small quantities, are raw local honey, 100% pure maple syrup, and coconut palm sugar. I love the latter because of it’s caramel taste, still, I hardly ever use it unless I’m following a particular recipe.

Stevia is my go-to sweetener, I use it in my coffee and iced tea, I have the liquid on-the-go in my purse, and I use the powdered form in my pitchers of tea. What is your favorite way to sweeten your foods and drinks? I wish I could get away from it all but since I’m at my ideal weight and my blood work is completely normal, I’ll stick with Stevia thank you. I might even get wild and grow my own! Give it a try and get away from the chemical laden artificial sweeteners will you, and let me know how you like it. According to the article I read on the Sweetleaf brand, it should not taste bitter and is safe for diabetics. You can check that out for yourself under Is Stevia Safe, by Food Babe, at food babe.com.

This morning I tried a new product I found from Dannon called Triple Zero yogurt, which has Stevia in it! It was delicious and I need the yogurt cultures since I’m on antibiotics. That reminds me, it’s time to also take my probiotic pill, so I’ll check  out for now and hope to see you tomorrow when I fill you in on flax and chia! Be seeing ya then, on the patio. 😀

 

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 30-Product Week- What’s Your Sweetener?

  1. Pingback: What's Your Sweetener? - Kim Smyth

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    I only use 1 tsp of the white death a day, When I was on heavy pain meds they made me crave sweets, I was eating sugar by the bucket loads! now, I don’t crave it at all! and have lost about 22lbs since middle of May!. 🙂 T.

    Like

Care to comment?

