Day 32- Product Week- Other Butters- Sun Butter, Almond Butter

Man, I used to love eating peanut butter! Since I began living the Paleo lifestyle however, I’ve had to find alternate nut butters and I’m about to discuss two of my favs. The first one I tried was almond butter. It was all natural with no added sugar or anything and to me, it tasted kind of rancid. Must have had a bad nut in that batch, the next time I tried it, it was good. The brand was Maranatha  and that’s what I stuck with…for awhile.

SONY DSC

It was ok tasting until I found another butter at Sprouts. It’s sunflower butter and it has 3 grams of sugar,  per 2 tbsp, 200 calories, 7grams of protein and 7 grams of total carbs. To me, it’s the closest tasting thing to peanut butter that I’ve found and has become my go-to snack or lunch enhancer. The brand is simply Sun Butter Natural Sunflower Butter and it can even be found at Walmart! That cuts down on trips to the health food store, where things can get pretty pricey. Why does it cost so much to eat healthy? I have a theory.😒

image

You can tell I really enjoy it by the nearly empty jar! I eat it on Granny Smith apples, baby carrots and add it to my smoothie (if it’s a chocolate one), yum! The good thing to know is that you have other choices if you are staying away from peanuts, whether because of an allergy or dietary restrictions, and, it’s delicious! Before I found this sun butter, I used to add a smidge of raw honey or 100% maple syrup to make the almond butter more palatable. Plus, it was very hard to spread and the oil content in sun butter makes it a breeze.

Don’t me wrong, I’ll still use almond butter for a recipe from time to time, I just like sun butter better! It’s a matter of taste. This sun butter is also soy free, tree nut free, gluten free, dairy free, non GMO and is made in the USA! I don’t worry about the fat and calories because I usually only eat a tbsp, not two. The sugar is so low, I don’t concern myself with that either-it comes from dehydrated cane syrup and the only other additions are salt and Vitamin E ( natural mixed tocopherols to preserve freshness).

It stacks up pretty equally to peanut butter in terms of calories, except sun butter has 4 grams of fiber and peanut butter has 2.  They have equal amounts of protein and similar carbs. The reason I don’t eat peanut butter is because peanuts are a legume, something people on Paleo avoid. The reason is the harmful lectins and phytic acid they contain. They and all beans or legumes give you gas, which is reason enough for me to avoid them. Peanut butter causes so many allergies for some people, there is growing concern that aflatoxin present in peanuts and other crops like wheat and rice, could be the culprit of these allergies.

Lucky for me, I never was a huge bean eater anyway, save green beans and sometimes black beans like you find at Mexican restaurants. Oh, and occasionally, at bbqs I might have a small spoon of Ranch Style Beans with jalapeños. Anyway, I hope this has been an informative talk and you do try another nut butter and let me know how you liked it. As always, questions and/or comments are welcome, so join the discussion. Until tomorrow, when I talk about nut flours, you all have a pleasant evening. I’m going to go sit on the patio.😉

 

6 Replies to “Day 32- Product Week- Other Butters- Sun Butter, Almond Butter”

  1. I’m going to have to look for that Sunflower Butter, not sure if Walmart Canada carries it but I’m sure going to search it out! Can’t eat Peanut butter anymore …… I was so addicted to it even as a little kid, my father would catch me in the middle of the night in the corner of the kitchen with the big jar and peanut butter all over my hands and face! lol…. It’s so hard to find products without Soya or Pea Protein in them so I’m looking for this product for sure! Thanks!! 🙂 Lb

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

