Day 35-Free Days- Church and Family

I don’t always make it to church on Sundays, but today I did. It was a good message and I always feel better about my week and those I care about when I do attend church. I have been going with more regularity and I’m trying to decide if I want this church to be my home church, or if we want to go back to the church we belonged to when we lived in Alvarado many years ago.

Mike Love, our pastor, talked about self sacrifice and also about the journey of discovering God. He talked about the stepping stones in the journey:

  1. Asking if God is real
  2. Dicovering He is real.
  3. Deciding to commit to that belief and make sacrifices of your time and/or service
  4. Living your life for God

If I were to be asked the question, “where are you in your journey”, I’d have to say, somewhere between 2 and 3, which means I still have a long journey to make. I believe, and I’ve made sacrifices and commitments, but not the ultimate. I try to be a good human being, I’ve volunteered my time and given offerings to the church. I could do more. I’m just not ready yet to take that next step, especially when I’m unsure I feel “at home” in my church.

I did love the phrase he used along the way in his sermon; Let go and let God. I do. I have learned to do that because I realize now that prayer works. Maybe not always when you want it to, but it does. You just have to believe. I had three boys, I had many reasons to ask for prayer, believe me, not that they are the only reason I pray. I have learned that if you believe, you are not supposed to worry, you are to Let go and let God handle your burden. Let me tell you, I am so much less stressed since I started doing it.

Later on in the day, we had Dad and my brother Kevin over and we shared a meal and hung out a while. That also makes me feel good, to have my family around me, even if it’s just one day a week that we can all get together. Some of you know already that I try to spend almost every Wednesday with Dad. Sometimes my youngest son is here, today, this whole holiday weekend, he chose to be with us. I’m so proud of him and love him so much for that. He makes sacrifices to be with his family sometimes and that makes me proud and happy. He could have gone out with old friends last night, could have stayed with his roommates all weekend, but we got to spend time with him, and we are thankful. He starts a new and important job on Tuesday, we may not get another chance for awhile as he trains and becomes very busy. So I’m really cherishing this time with him this weekend.

With that being said, I’m going back, out with him and my hubby now, think about what is your sacrifice, and let me know in the comments. Have a wonderful Labor Day Weekend everyone. See you tomorrow on the patio.😉

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 35-Free Days- Church and Family

  1. Spending time with God indeed is peaceful. My husband is a Catholic but we hardly go to the church😑. I feel more content when I pray at home instead of when I visit the church. I dont know how good or bad is that but I feel rehardless of everything else, we just need to go on with good deeds, the rest He will take care of.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We heard an excellent sermon yesterday on being a disciple, the kind of sermon that really made you think. My husband and I grew up in households where it was unheard of to skip church. We chose to do the same, and go every Sunday. Some worship times are better than others, but it is a good discipline for us to be there every Sunday. We have moved and have not yet decided on a church, but we were in our former church for 50 years. Those people became our family, with bonds at times closer than blood relatives.

    That’s wonderful that you had such a good visit with your son.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wanted to roll by and let you know that I read and enjoyed reading your post. God loves you where you are at an there is nothing that you can do to make a difference in that love! You believe, and that is all that has been asked! His GRACE (God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense) is sufficient for you. God would like to have a relationship with us more than anything! You are a good person and you do great things!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

