Day 36-Free Days-Reason to Celebrate

image HAPPY LABOR DAY!!

Ok, I found this flag pic on Pinterest and thought it represented my hope that you all had a fabulous Labor Day weekend. 🇺🇸 It kind f reminds me of the old ads where the kid says, with arms out wide, “I love you this much!”

I “worked” a few hours this morning and spent the afternoon with friends, I say worked that way because my job isn’t like work at all, I’m simply helping someone out and we’ve created such a bond that it doesn’t feel like work at all.  Since the holiday is about   celebrating the achievements of American workers, I thought it appropriate to say I did work for a little bit today.

Labor Day is really a tribute to the American Labor force and what it took to improve work place conditions. On this day in 1882, several thousand workers took to the streets of New York to participate in possibly the first Labor Day parade ever. They took time off with no pay. It was important to get the message across and became so popular that other states soon passed legislation to make it a holiday as well.

The official holiday wasn’t approved until 1894 and while the founder of it is still in question, that doesn’t stop millions of people from observing it. So, I do hope you had fun in whatever way you chose to celebrate today, I know we did-alcohol free for me, but plenty of pool time and fun in the sun. We also ate bbq, a very popular thing to do. How do you celebrate Labor Day? Did you work or get the day off? Let me know in the comments and I’ll see you tomorrow, when hopefully I’ll have come up with a new theme for this week. 😉

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 36-Free Days-Reason to Celebrate

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    Don’t forget Kim, Canada Celebrates Labour Day also, so it’s not just you Yankee’s!! LOL!!! (no infliction meant!)… ((hugs)) T.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We used to go to a community parade and have a cookout with family on Labor Day. Now that we have moved, we are inviting neighbors to come for potluck on national holidays. We enjoy our neighbors very much — a real blessing. I’m glad you had a pleasant Labor Day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      That is so cool! We don’t know any of our neighbor’s yet, it’s a shame people aren’t as welcoming as they used to be-we’ve been here almost a year, and I’ve met two people on my entire street-and I live in a court!!! It’s sad, I had to initiate the contact both times. Anyway, good for you, glad you enjoyed your day as well. At least we have family and friends to have cookouts with!😀

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

