Day 37-Support a Cause Week-PKD Walk

Fall is shaping up to be very busy, with all kinds of walks and festivals to help support worthy causes. Everything from my personal health issue (PKD) to one of the most famously supported causes, breast cancer awareness.

Although I have covered the PKD Walk before, it bears repeating, since I’m trying to reach a specific monetary goal for my team-$250, not that much in the big scheme of things, but if every team walking reaches their goals, it would help the foundation so much in their search for new medicines to treat and/or cure this potentially fatal disease.

image image

As stated before, you can donate a little (or a little more) to my team by heading to http://www.walkforpkd.org/northtexas and search my name, Kim Smyth. So far, one kind blogger that follows my blog donated $10. That was very sweet. I would like to point out that if all my followers donated just $5 each, I would definitely reach my goal. I am personally donating $50 for myself and a memorial pledge of $50 for my mother who passed away from complications of PKD in 2014.

I’m going to post these causes, each day a different one, starting with the month of Oct. and working backwards to Sept. my thought being about how much time you have to get ready for each one. Tomorrow’s post will feature some kind of walk for breast cancer, (there are so many) I wanted the latest one in October for my area so we would all have more time to get ready for it. Even if you don’t live in the area, you can make a pledge/donation at the website I will be providing.

We should all do our part to help out worthy causes when we can, don’t you agree? If you can’t help financially, they always can use volunteers. However you choose to donate, with your time, or money, it will all be greatly appreciated, and you can feel good knowing you helped make a difference.

Now a bit about PKD for those who have never heard of it. The letters stand for polycystic kidney disease, it is potentially fatal because the cysts will at some point grow large enough to choke out the kidneys and at that time one needs to either go on dialysis or get a kidney transplant. Polycystic means multiple cysts. Nothing can be done currently to remove or drain the cysts, although they are always working on finding medicines to treat it. I choose to be proactive and at least eat as well as I can, that is why I live the Paleo lifestyle. My mom chose dialysis, I found out my diagnosis when being screened as a potential donor for her. By the way, every person with PKD stands a 50/50 chance of passing it to their children. Mom was on dialysis for 18+ years and eventually, her organs started shutting down one by one and she went into a nursing home and then on hospice about a month later. She lingered another week or so, at which point they made her comfortable with medications and stopped feeding her. It was so painful to witness her wither and not be able to communicate with her due to her dementia. I assume it was a very painful and uncomfortable month for her as well, although she could not express this in words. I have decided if and when I progress, I will opt for a transplant, if I’m able. I’m told one can’t even get on the list until you become more symptomatic. Currently, I have too many cysts to count but my kidney function is fine and my lab work is perfect. I was lucky to find out early enough to get on top of it, my doctor keeps very close tabs on me.

I want to help others as well as myself, that is why I became a member of the foundation and why I’m bringing attention to this cause.

Please, go to the PKD Foundation for more information about this disease and/or how you can help. I appreciate what ever you can do, and so will thousands of others affected with this disease. Until tomorrow, see you on the patio. 😊

 

23 Replies to “Day 37-Support a Cause Week-PKD Walk”

    1. Oh thank you, I’m so glad I’m raising awareness then. Thank you as well for what you did, I sent you a personal email. Let me know when you get it. 😊 Sorry, I need your email to send your message. Can I get that please?

      Like

  1. Thanks for the reminder about doing this for your support a cause week! I have been meaning to give a donation since you 1st told me about it. It made my heart feel good to do it, so glad I did! Love you lots! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did get the letter, Kim. We changed our schedule today, walking in town instead of from the house. Then we went to the supermarket and rushed home to have breakfast after 9 am. I did some weeding in the garden before showering and looking at email. It’s fun to have a mixed-up day, something we’re trying to do once a week.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

