Day 44-Story Week-My Shot With Sam

img_2538 You only have one chance to get it right, and this was my chance.

Earlier this year, while on a trip down to the Bolivar Peninsula, I passed my favorite Texas monument and thought how awesome would it be (albeit dangerous) to get the perfect selfie shot with my man Sam Houston in the background. Somehow, while watching the traffic, (thank God it was light) and balancing the camera (iPhone) just at the precise angle, I managed to snap this awesome (pat myself on the back) pic of the hero and myself while traveling at a speed of 55 mph (lets just stick to that story shall we). I really can’t remember how fast I was going, I think the speed limit is 65-70 mph through there, but since it’s close to the prison, everyone slows down and minds their manners. Which means I was risking that as well! Luckily, I got the shot and wasn’t caught!

We’ve travelled this stretch of road more times than I can count, and my husband always knows, just as he does when going over the bridge in Waco that I want that pic of the beautiful Brazos River, that I’m going to take yet another picture of good ole Sam Houston every time. Why the reason for my love affair with Sam is unclear even to me, except for the fact that the statue is massive, the tallest statue of an American hero in the world,  at 67 ft tall, he was designed by artist David Adickes and dedicated to the city of Huntsville in 1994. He is an impressive icon who sits atop a ten foot granite base. I have yet to make it to the visitor center (should have gone when I was alone) something my hubby has promised yet not fulfilled as of yet. Men are always in such a galdarned hurry to get to their destination, they fail to take in the sights and historical places along the way. Why is that?

Anyway, I was proud to capture this image and my only complaint about it was that in my rush to complete the task at hand, I forgot to smile! By the way, any of you who want to get the other picture I referred to earlier of the Brazos river, don’t plan on getting it while crossing the bridge in Waco! They have since put of some kind of support structures that completely block your view. So if you gotta have that pic, you’ll have to find a place to park and get out of the car to get it.

So maybe this wasn’t a story in the typical sense, but it’s my story and I’ll have the picture to prove it, from now until the end of my days.

What monuments have you visited and do you have some incredible shots to share? I’m sure you do, leave me a comment below, I’d love to see them! Until then, I’ll be waiting on the patio. 😉

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 44-Story Week-My Shot With Sam

  1. Golly, Kim. We have visited any number of monuments because my husband was a history major. I wouldn’t know where to begin. Most of my photos include family members, and you can tell my focus was on them more than the history protrayed. It made me feel really good to see your shot with Sam. It’s obvious Sam can stand on his own, but I liked seeing you right there with him in your speed-by shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Thank you Anne, I was so stoked to get that shot! Believe me, the phone stayed put down the rest of the trip!

    Like

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    Your lucky your driving in Canada and a cop saw you doing that! Big fines now and lose points on your license! But Good One, took me a sec to see the monument! T.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

