Day 47-Story Week-A Texas Love Story

image

I met this crazy bull rider one day in a watering hole called Manhattan’s. Crazy thing was, I didn’t even want to be there but my friend talked me into going at the last minute. As I found out later, he didn’t want to be there either, it didn’t have his favorite pastime-foosball. He was almost as good at that as playing pool as I soon found out.

As we eyeballed each other across the room, me thinking he looked kinda like someone I used to know and him thinking he just wanted to ask me to dance or something, finally came the moment when he and his buddy approached our table. My friend and I giggled and said sure we’d dance and off we went. I wish I could say the night went as well for her as it did me, but I’d be lying.

The dance was short and soon we were outside in the parking lot admiring each other’s  cars-I was proud of my ride at the time, a Mercury Capris, and he had a small truck he was pretty happy with. The real deal was, we were checking each other out a little bit and the premise was that he was going to give me his digits that were located on his business card.

Next thing I know, he has me in his arms, asking me if I’m as sick of playing “games” as he is. I agreed I was done, and as we kissed, I knew this one was going to be different. We were leaning against my car at the time and I was so proud that it was a cool one. Black with a red pin stripe, my two favorite colors. He made me feel safe and warm and I had no qualms asking him back to my place.

I reserve the right to withhold the details, just know that was thirty one years ago. We’ve had good times and bad, raised two children and had many adventures along the way. I wouldn’t change it for anything and I love him just as much today as I did the day we met. I tell you what though, if you would have told me 31 years ago that I’d have fallen for a cowboy, I’d have said you’re crazy. I’m a rocker and he’s more of the easy listening kind of guy. We have so much in common and love each other’s company that none of that matters.

So there you have it, the short version of our Texas love story. And to think, the song that was our first dance was “You’ve Lost That Lovin Feeling”. Never gonna happen. 😍

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 47-Story Week-A Texas Love Story

  1. I love hearing how married couples met. Your story is fun and different. May you have many more glorious years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    Sweet Story! and a little spicy! He has pretty blue eye’s!! But don’t tell him that, it will got to his head! lol…. 🙂 T.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so lovely and you wrote it beautifully ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kathybruton2 says:

    Awwww, I’m a sucker for a love story! Gotta love a cowboy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I guess you guys were smitten with each other in 8 seconds!!! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

