Day 50-Tips & Tricks Week-Cleaning Your Glass Shower Doors

Yea! I’ve reached a milestone in my yearlong quest to post everyday! Although I’ve been blogging way longer, I’ve got 50 of the 365 days done!

I read your responses and will continue to read them for a week before I make my final decision. For now, I will continue the way I have been and therefore deem this week Tips and Tricks week, where I will share with you some of the stuff I find from around the web (for those of you who may not have seen them.)

The goal is to share some tips on cleaning and other shortcuts using household items that are natural and non-toxic to reduce the amount of chemicals in your home. My opinion is, the less toxic chemicals one uses, the less chance of getting cancer or some other ailment.

Today, I want to share a tip for cleaning your glass shower with vinegar, alcohol and baking soda. I have personally tried this and it works! Just don’t try it on your mirrors, you will have to follow up with windex anyway. I got this tip from a website called Instructables.com and it’s a great little site for all kinds of tips, tricks and DIY projects. It is probably on my Pinterest page as well, somewhere under the tips and tricks section.

img_2757

Anyhoo, all you need is three simple household ingredients, something to scrub the glass with that won’t scratch it, and a squeegee. First, mix your cleaner by adding 1 cup of white vinegar with one cup of alcohol. Mix well and then add 3 Tbsps of baking soda. Using a funnel, pour into a spray bottle. Grab your supplies and jump in the shower. Spray the solution on the glass doors, then, one at a time, take your scrubby sponge and using a circular motion, scrub each glass panel. Rinse thoroughly using the handheld shower sprayer (hopefully you have one) and the squeegee the rinsed doors. Like magic, the water stains and soap scum have disappeared! Stubborn spots may need a second application, however, I’m sure you’ll be happy with the results. After squeegeeing, you can dry with paper towels, but it’s not necessary. It’s just gonna get wet again right? Maybe if you were selling the house or something, lol.

Thats my tip for the day, try it and let me know how it worked for you, if you have a better one, stick it in the comment box-I’d love to hear it!

Update: Check out the post on my Pinterest page from http://Simplehomeblessings.com for a way to keep your glass doors clean for months, from the start!

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 50-Tips & Tricks Week-Cleaning Your Glass Shower Doors

  1. Our solution for cleaning the glass shower doors was to remove them. Best bathroom decision we ever made! I’m glad you know how to deal with the problem.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your tips.T hanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim Smyth says:

    Thank you for reading! I’m glad you are finding them useful.

    Like

Care to comment?

