Day 55-Free Days-Fall Festival & Bunco!

Today was a busy one around the Smyth house, we got an early start with Dave heading out to play golf at 7:30 in Dallas and I went to help out with the Fall Festival at our church.

image image image

There was sporadic shoppers, plentiful of goodies and crafts galore! Hopefully they did well, the jewelry I donated wasn’t selling when I left but was going to the craft store if it never did. Maybe it will do better for them there.

When Dave got home, we went to lunch-spoiler alert-I had a major cheat day because we were trying the new Pancho’s Mexican Buffet on Rufe Snow. This place was iconic since childhood,  they had all closed down around here until this new one popped up, and I just couldn’t help myself from having a couple of hot, buttery, flaky delicious soapapillas with honey. Mmmmmm! I’ll get back on track Monday. It was soooo worth it. 

image

Everything tasted just the way I remembered it, and there is no “health” food there. I tried to be good, choosing the verde stew, baked chicken and 2 small flautas. Turns out they were made from flour tortillas and tasted like heaven. Another cheat, lol. Not to mention the small cheese enchilada-yeah, MAJOR cheat meal.

Then we were treated to a visit from my son and his girlfriend, whom I promptly dragged off to play my first ever game of Bunco! OMG, I don’t know what I was so nervous about. What a fun and easy game, we had a great time and Becky even won a nice prize. I will be anxious to play again next month, and luckily everyone was so nice and many of the ladies seem to live close to me. Here are a few pics from the game.

image image image image

Actually, I didn’t think to take pics until people were winning prizes at the end. It was great fellowship, food and fun and I’m so glad I went. You can’t go wrong with a room full of rowdy women, lol. This group is a mix of people that are friends of a girl my brother went to school with, that’s how I got invited. I was unaware there was an entry fee, and someone in the group (Tina) was kind enough to pay my way in and made Becky and I feel welcome and wanted.

All in all it was a great day and now it’s time to relax and enjoy the visit with my kids.

Have a good night and see you tomorrow when it’s likely to be raining on the patio. ⛈

8 Replies to “Day 55-Free Days-Fall Festival & Bunco!”

    1. Bunco is a dice game played in rounds of sequential numbers, when you roll 3 of the number you’re going for, say ones, that’s a bunco. When you roll 3 of a different number, it’s a mini-bunco or (baby) bunco.
      It’s really fun, a great way to gather friends for fellowship and food, the game is easy to play and you’d catch on real quick.

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

