Day 57- What If…. Week-

Today I decided to turn back to creative writing this week because of a seemingly brilliant idea that came to me just as I was falling asleep last night, I thought of having a week of scenario type stories focusing on What if…..

I had a lovely story almost written in my mind, then I fell asleep-and you know what they say. That is a disaster, now I can’t recall the particular story except the very beginning, or what my point was, or the direction it was supposed to go. Lesson here, always keep a notepad by the bed to jot these ideas down, but what if my husband is asleep? I don’t want to wake him once the light is off, so some ideas that I had to remedy this was to use a lighted pen, or a small flashlight, or at the very least, I could get up and take my iPad into the other room.

Why I can’t fall asleep on Sunday nights is a mystery to me, maybe because the weekend is over and I know I’m working Monday, so I start mentally preparing myself with to-do lists or writing projects come unbidden into my head. I had 3-4 of these such projects back to back racing in my mind last night, now I can only recall bits and pieces.

But now I have an idea.

After reading the word prompt on Medium for this week’s edition of The Weekly Knob, I am inspired to write a little on the subject of  Light up Medium, Light up the World. The word prompt is “candle”,  while I can’t write the same story in the both places, I can write a “what if” story. So here goes:

What if we, as a nation, lit a candle every day at a certain time in solidarity to end the madness and bring some positivity and light into the world? What do you think it would change? Would we be so busy lighting candles and thinking of our individual reasons for doing so that we would forget the hate and negativity going on in all the dark corners of the world today? Would we for once, get caught up in the action of doing something as a group to bring happiness and peace to the world that we ignore all the ignorant and inane things in the mainstream media today? What if we also said a prayer for peace and unity every time we lit that candle? Would the nation be healed? Maybe not, maybe so, I bet we’d have more of a fighting chance by coming together in this action than not. I say we try it for a week. I say, if the nation lit a candle and prayed everyday for a week, say, at 7:11, the healing would begin. What if we shared the news we were doing it, like we do every other insignificant thing we plaster all over Facebook and Instagram and Twitter? Spread the news, make it happen. Don’t you want the madness to stop? All the shootings, the press about the shootings, the riots, the protests. Light. It. Up. Light the candle, say a prayer and spread the word. I’m going to, because I really do. I want it to end and light to come back into the world. The light of Jesus. The light of God. The light of peace. I pray you do too.

image

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 57- What If…. Week-

  1. Myra H says:

    I have been lighting candles at my front door for the past 4 years, they are on a spot where maybe I should have small flower pots but, I have put my candles there. It, to me, show’s a light to my parents and friends who are above to know I am ok today and I am thinking about them. It helps this little house stay safe from all that goes on around it.
    To have a candle lite means different things to different people, it is powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    Nice! if only more people thought like you! 🙂 T. ps…I don’t pray, but I’ll light a candle! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

