Day 59-What If….Week-I Got Into Fall

What if I was inspired to enjoy the cooler temperatures and finally acknowledge that fall is here by redecorating my fireplace mantel? I guess it would be a start, and I did that yesterday, going by the local thrift shop armed with my handy dandy $10 off of $20 coupon, to peruse the shelves for autumn decor. I came away with some rust colored, battery operated candles and some fake but lovely fall foliage to grace my shell and glass bead filled vases. Along with that, I purchased two cute little wooden pumpkins to go with the look. In the center is my own candle, the one I light each night in the campaign to Light up Medium, Light up the World. Here is a photo of how it turned out-I hope to add more as the mood (and my pocketbook) strikes me.image

Although I never want summer to end, I am looking forward to all the activity this time of the year brings, festivals and fairs, birthday week for us come October, my dad’s, son’s and best friend’s are all in one week. The same week used to be my Aunt Connie’s and my father-in-law Robert’s, and they will never be forgotten. Then it will be the start of the holidays, kicked off by Halloween and then Thanksgiving and Christmas. Again, we still miss those that have passed on, holidays are hard without our loved ones, most recently my mom, dad-in-law and brother-in-law, however we cherish their memories and try to move on, enjoying the time with family, and friends, making the choice to celebrate life’s new joys like the fact that one of our sons has a new baby due soon, another has a renewed relationship with his girlfriend and my brother has started a new job.

Fall also means it’s time to think about breaking out the boots and sweaters, stoke fires in the fireplace and begin to cook more autumn style meals like soups and stews. (Love my crockpot!) For now, I get to wear shorts for a few more days but it’s coming, that final change in the weather that signals the true arrival of fall.

There will be more people to shop for in the coming weeks with Christmas around the corner because there is new people in my life. I do love shopping and the quest to find the perfect gift, however, sometimes crafting the perfect gift is also a possibility and I am inspired to break out my jewelry supplies, crochet hooks and yarn and whip up something creative. This makes me realize that time is short and I need to get busy, so I’d better start planning and crafting soon!

I hope you are all planning to tap into your crafty side as well, share your ideas and projects if you’d like, and comment below about what you like best about fall and the upcoming holiday season. Also, don’t forget to vote! We can’t complain, or improve the situation if we don’t choose to vote. Please also remember to light your candles and join me and hundreds of others in the campaign to shed light into the dark and end the madness that has been going on all over the world. Please check out all the fabulous stories on Medium discussing the subject and see how powerful the words are that are being written. Just go to Medium.com and look for the Light It Up campaign.

I’m off to spend time with my dad on this glorious, sunny day-enjoy your day and I’ll see you all later on the patio! 😎

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 59-What If….Week-I Got Into Fall

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    Your a Libra also?? I was born on Canadian Thanksgiving…just before dinner! So I’m a true Turkey! lol.. I make my own X-mas cards, some are pretty amazing I must admit, and i make them to suit each persons personality! one day I’ll post them..but I think they are on my laptop that doesn’t work…I’m bad at back-ups! Your Thrift shop treasures look great! T.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    cool, can’t wait!

    Like

Care to comment?

