Day 60-What If….Week-Everyone Ate Healthier

Just some food for thought,  what if everyone ate healthier? Would it not change their financial states? Think about it, insurance costs and doctor bills would be significantly lower, because there would not be as much need for trips to the doctor. Why, diabetes and IBS might be diseases of the past. Celiac disease cases would be fewer and high blood pressure would be lower.

image

If we all ate less sugar, cancer could not thrive and yeast infections would likely not exist. Sugar feeds both conditions.

Lets put the fast food industry out of business and build more whole food stores, or better yet, go back to growing our own food. It’s already becoming popular to have co-op city gardens and some produce and herbs can be grown hydroponically (only needing air and water). I grew herbs from my Aerogarden for months!

If we all started eating healthier, we’d have the energy to live a more active life, therefore reducing obesity. If eating healthy were the norm instead of an experiment people only try when dieting, it ould be ok to have a “cheat” day occasionally. They would become more special and less aguilty indulgence.

I’m not perfect by any stretch, but I can say, the last two years of eating healthier have been the most positive experience I’ve had health wise. I lost 25-30 lbs, rid myself of Candida, excercised more (I’ve been slacking in that area but plan to start walking/biking again, now that it’s cooler). Do I have to be strict? Yes, I need incredible willpower some days, but once in the habit, those times are far and few between. When people ask me why I eat this way and deny myself treats like cake and chips, I say because I want to be healthier. I haven’t gotten the flu in I can’t tell you when, I rarely get yeast infections (unless I give in and drink too much or start eating real sugar), I’m super energetic compared to three years ago and my stamina has also improved. When I excercised, I felt even better! I learned about essential oils and how beneficial they are for my body and discovered vegetables I’d never even tried! (Spaghetti squash and parsnips for example)

We all complain about the high cost of medical care but we do little to help ourselves and once we become obese or have a disease, it’s harder to undo. Wouldn’t it be better to try ourselves to become healthier instead of expecting a pill to take care of it? All we have to do is rid our houses of the junk-everything in a box or a bag should be replaced by lean cuts of meat, lots of veggies and fruits and nuts. It really isn’t hard when you think about it, you never need go hungry and the occasional treat, like a piece of quality dark chocolate, becomes that-a real treat!

image

The harsh truth is, we’ve become lazy as a nation, and in the process, obesity and heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure is rampant. We could change all that folks, with a few more salads and a lot less French fries. In fact, we can have em, just as long as they’re sweet potato fries! Switch out chips with a few almonds or walnuts. Use lots of spices and make the switch from vegetable oil to olive and/or coconut oil. Have apples with some nut butter for a snack instead of that dish of Blue Bell.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

With just a few healthy swaps, we can start to heal as a nation, no, we won’t put doctors out of business but maybe we can visit them way less and fast food joints might be replaced by farmers markets. What a wonderful world that would be!

For questions on eating healthier or the Paleo lifestyle in general, comment below or shoot me an email. I will help however I can!

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 60-What If….Week-Everyone Ate Healthier

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    It’s cheaper to eat healthier, but people are so lazy at times….after I quit taking my pain meds I lost the craving for sugar…before I was eating a gallon of ice cream a week…I’ve lost almost 30 lbs! I get so sick now if I eat any processed food….my immune system goes through the roof and it takes me a week or 2 just to get healthy again….so I agree! 🙂 T.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      I’m so sorry you had to get sick to start eating better, but I’m glad you found the light! Keep it up and maybe you will heal yourself! Congrats on the weight loss (if you had it to lose, not if you didn’t)! (Hugs)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post – totally agree

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

