Day 61-What If…Week-I Found Teresa

Howdy folks! That’s what you’ll hear if you come to the state fair starting this week in Texas! I guess lots of people have heard about Big Tex and how he greets all the visitors at the fair taking place for the next three weeks in Dallas, Texas. I do hope we can make it this year, it’s been a long time!

Today marks the 61st day in my quest to post daily for 365 days, yesterday, I had a landmark day as I reached 100 posts here on Kimmy’s Patio.

My what if story for today has to do with my search for my Army buddy, who I lost contact with after my service was over. What if, by writing and sharing this blog all over social media, I was able to find her? It is possible, I suppose, that someone, somewhere reading my words has heard of her or knows her, as I have many blogger friends now, all over the United States and beyond.

I entered the service in 1979 right after high school. That is a long story in itself, however, today I want to talk about my best friend for a few months, who suffered alongside me during basic training, was my partner in crime through that time and later in San Antonio my first time, Teresa Smoyer was her name way back then. I have looked for her ever since, written letters, which never found her, did Facebook searches- of course, if she got married, moved out of the country or, God forbid, passed away, that would explain why I can’t find her.

She hailed from Lansing, Michigan, we were the rockers and trouble makers of our basic training unit in Alabama, constantly getting in trouble for yakking and fooling around during formation, both being made to push the ground to China, giggling through the hundreds of push-ups we were made to do during the course of basic training. If a thread was found on our uniforms, our drill instructor told us they were called “snow snakes” and made us carry them around in a little box. I’m pretty sure we both had one!

Later, in San Antonio, we had many adventures, the one that sticks out being the time we decided we were going to get a tattoo. I ended up getting the flu or something, however, nothing was going to stop me from going with her, I had to see her dream of her very own design, a rose over a heart, being tattooed around her wrist. As I lay on the couch in the shop, moaning because I felt so horrible, I would peek over the top of it to check on her progress. She handled it like a pro and I felt like a heel, not being able to join her and get one myself. It was beautiful, gracing the top of her hand, just around the wrist bone, which must have hurt like hell, even though she said it didn’t-I’m sure I remember seeing the tears in her eyes.

Damn my crappy memory for forgetting the rest, all I know is we were joined at the hip, sharing the process together, the hot hell of basic training and then the liberating freedom during AIT. San Antonio was our playground and became one of my favorite cities, although I have not been back in years, I love that city!

If anyone has heard of her, or if she herself, sees this blog by some miracle, Teresa, I’m looking for you! I have never forgotten you and I want so bad to re-connect. I’m going to share this story with everyone I know in the hope that we find each other again, so we can catch up and reminisce on all the fun we had so long ago. What if I actually found her? What a joy that would be! I’d like to ask everyone who reads this story or follows my blog to also share it on your social media, maybe then, it will reach someone that knew her or knows where she is today.

Oh yes, before I forget, my name back in those days was Kim Robicheaux, Smyth is my married name. Thanks for reading, thanks for sharing and I’ll catch ya later,Β on the patio. πŸ™‚

10 Replies to “Day 61-What If…Week-I Found Teresa”

  1. I hope that you get to go to the fair this year! I went last year which was the 1st time in a long time I had gone! I went with my home team, and rode on the big Ferris wheel!

    I really do hope you find Teresa, and with all of the social media help now it is a good time to be able to get a hold of her.

    I also enjoyed reading the stories of your mischievousness!
    Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

