Day 63-Free Days-Autumn Delights

Aahh Autumn, the cool crisp air, the falling leaves and the ability to wear our boots and sweaters-NOT! Not today anyway, the temp currently is still 81 degrees and we had to turn the air back on. However, we can-and did-get to enjoy the flavors of fall today at dinner when we had some delicious baked acorn squash, grill baked pork tenderloin and a nice salad. I handled the squash, fixing it like I’ve been taught since going Paleo, smeared with grass-fed butter, sprinkled with some coconut sugar and pumpkin pie spice, then a nice tsp of pure, 100% maple syrup drizzled over each half, baked for an hour in the oven. Talk about something so good it could have been dessert! It could easily replace my beloved sweet potatoes if they weren’t so darned easy and cost effective to make. Dave was the usual grill master and turned out an excellent roast, moist and tender with yellow bell peppers and onion baked alongside for flavor. The meal made us feel like it was fall anyway.

image

It has been a busy weekend and we have a few more things completed in the master bedroom to report. First, Dave installed the base (cause it’s all about that base ya know), then we headed out for the great rug hunt, finally finding one we liked at Home Goods as well as some new bedding. We still need some king sized pillows to go with the new mattress and box springs we found at Sam’s and don’t have our headboard yet, but it’s coming along nicely. I decided on aqua and white bedding for a pop of color, I think it’s a nice contrast to the gray. I’m going to make you wait until it’s all done to post pics-sorry! 😉

I also started a couple of projects, an Autumn wreath, inspired by one I saw and pinned after viewing it on Home Talk, the artist is from Across the Blvd. She combined autumn with a coastal twist, I’m putting my own spin on it, I’ll post pics when it’s finished. I should have been done today but lacked a few pieces to finish it up. My second project is one I hope I have the patience to complete, my crocheting needs a lot of practice, but I’m attempting a baby blanket for my son’s girlfriend’s nursery. She is due this month or next-I have to work fast! They are going with a strange, yet evidently popular theme (I found stuff all over Etsy) for the nursery-A Nightmare Before Christmas. The colors are lavender, lime green, black and white. Hey, don’t hate the player, hate the game. Young people these days have waaaay different tastes than we did. Anyhoo, I couldn’t be 15 hours away for today’s baby shower, so I decided to try my hand at a home made project for her nursery.

With my Mother-in-law just coming back into town today and all the other activity going on, we decided to forego family dinner today and just had a relaxing meal and watched our Cowboys win, woo hoo!! Go Boys! It’s been a nice, productive weekend and although the weather has warmed back up for now, I wouldn’t have changed a thing. What makes for a special Autumn for you? Feel free to share in the comments and if you would like to view the wreath I’m copying creating, check out my Pinterest page, you’ll also find a version of the baked acorn squash (don’t worry Steph, I didn’t forget you!) that I changed up by subbing the brown sugar with coconut sugar. Not sure yet what I’m blogging about tomorrow, come back and you’ll find out! 😉

One Reply to “Day 63-Free Days-Autumn Delights”

Care to comment?

