Day 65-My Life in Photos Week-Things That Matter

We photograph lots of things-people, places, special moments, pets, stuff we’re proud of, etc.  After the day I’ve had with my dad today, all I can think of is how we also photograph the things that matter in our lives, like relationships. The photos are what we have to look back on when we remember the good times and special occasions in our life.

My dad had a procedure done today that neither of us was prepared for, and while it may seem simple to some, it was traumatic and emotional for me, even though he handled it like a real trooper. The procedure was done to relieve him, but it will take time before he feels the difference, since he has been living with the problem for so long. He had to be catheterized to empty his bladder of the ten times normal amount of urine he’d been walking around with for who knows how long. I stayed in the room to provide emotional support or to give him my hand to squeeze if necessary. So who broke down and cried? Me! Until that moment, I didn’t realize how scared and nervous I was for him, how concerned I was about his health and even how much I love him until I was in that position. He was not concerned about me being a witness to the procedure, I have been in the medical field for 22 years, even though not really a nurse, he was comfortable because I am his daughter and knowledgeable about these things.

Luckily, it went quickly and over 1250  liters of urine was removed, the normal amount after emptying the bladder is 100! He has to wear it for the next three weeks, and I was freaking out about that a little inside, but he did fine with it the rest of the day. There is much more to the story, more tests to be done, and that’s on top of all the other doctors and things he has scheduled in the future. He took it all in stride, meanwhile, I’m an emotional wreck. I don’t know why I’m having this reaction, but it has really driven home the point that we need to value the time we have with our loved ones. Even though he is fine and will be even better soon, the whole situation has left me drained and unable to think straight. I’m sure when it all sinks in (and maybe after a glass of wine), I’ll feel better too!

Hopefully, he won’t mind me sharing this photo with you-three things are rare about this pic. 1. My dad is in the pool. 2. My dad is drinking a beer (he normally drinks wine) 3. I rarely show pics of myself that are less than flattering. The important thing here is its a rare pic of us having fun together so without further ado, here’s the shot.

image

Spend quality time with the ones you love, it really is one of the things that matter in this life!

 

10 Replies to “Day 65-My Life in Photos Week-Things That Matter”

Care to comment?

