Day 74-Open Topics Week-What is Kombucha? and PKD Walk update

As some of you know, we are nearing the homestretch! Only 9 more days till the walk for PKD.  Thank you to my fellow bloggers who have helped so far in my effort to reach my team goal (now reduced to $150), I’m halfway there! This is in addition to my own personal donations I’ll be making day of the walk. Please consider a small donation to help us find a cure for this potentially fatal disease. Additionally, if anyone reading this post is in the area, we can always use more walkers and this year, you can bring your kids and dogs in costume, or wear one yourself! All the info can be found at http://www.walkforpkd.org/northtexas I appreciate all of you!

image  imageimg_3309

Ok, now on to my next subject: What is kombucha? Well, it is a great tasting way to get your daily dose of probiotics, for one thing! The one I’m sampling today by Kevita is the Tart Cherry flavor, and it has 4billion CFU’s of lactobacillus rhamnosus, and bacillus coagulans (LactoSporeMTCC 5856) live probiotics.

Kevita brand Kombucha in Tart Cherry
Kevita brand Kombucha in Tart Cherry

Probiotics are necessary for optimum health of your digestive tract. We all have good and bad bacteria in our systems. Taking a good probiotic and eating (or drinking) foods that include more probiotics, can only do a body good. Different strains and species of bacterias provide different health benefits. Some of those benefits include preventing and treating diarrhea associated with the use of antibiotics, fantastic immune system function and soothing the symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome, or IBS. Studies have shown they may also aid in lowering cholesterol and helping one drop body fat as well.

 

The actual definition of Kombucha is “a beverage produced by fermenting a sweet tea with a culture of yeast and bacteria.” The culture used in the fermentation process is called a “SCOBY” and it can be home made or purchased at health food stores like Sprouts. I prefer to leave it to the pros and get mine pre-made and I have tried a few  brands. Kevita brand is very good and comes in all kinds of flavors. If you don’t like the taste of vinegar or beer, it might take a few times or a couple of different flavors to get used to it. What I found is to start out with just a cup or so a day until you get used to it. Now I like it (and I HATE beer) and have tried many different flavors. I like fruit flavors the best, although you can also get flavors like ginger and lavender.

A typical bottle contains two servings, so you can make it last a couple of days, which is good since they are a bit pricey. A typical bottle goes for $2-$5.  I drink it AND take a probiotic and that way, I can be sure I’m covered. I don’t know about you, but I did not get the flu shot this year and I want to do everything I can to stay healthy. On top of being incredibly good for you, it is also low calorie, low carb and surprisingly low sugar-8 grams a serving. It also packs 10% each of 6 different b vitamins and folic acid per serving. The one I’m drinking today is sweetened with organic cane sugar, however, some kombucha is sweetened with honey or fruit.

Besides the probiotic benefits drinking kombucha provides, it is naturally energizing and can help with inflammatory ailments like arthritis and help with fatigue, hypertension and constipation. It has been around for 2000 years but has recently gained popularity among folks looking to better their health.

I say don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, and try it you should! My favorite flavor is Mystic Mango but this tart cherry is quite nice as well. Let me know if you’ve tried it, made it and which flavors you like! Comment below or shoot me an email please and don’t forget to donate to the walk if you can. Tomorrow may be Friday night, but ill be blogging for ya on the patio! 🙂

6 Replies to “Day 74-Open Topics Week-What is Kombucha? and PKD Walk update”

      1. Here’s a good site on it, lots of history!
        https://www.kombuchakamp.com/…kombucha/history-and-legends-of-k…
        In Russian, the kombucha culture is called čajnyj grib (literally “tea mushroom”), while the beverage itself is known as grib (“mushroom” or affectionately gribok In Russian, the kombucha culture is called čajnyj grib (literally “tea mushroom”), while the beverage itself is known as grib (“mushroom” or affectionately gribok – “little mushroom”) or “tea kvass” and was attributed to saving Nobel Prize winner Alexsander Solzhenitsyn’s life while in exile in Siberia….
        I knew people who grew this under their bathroom sink…
        I can see by the pictures as to why you buy it pre-made! lol… no, I haven’t tried it….maybe one day! 🙂 T.

        Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

