Day 76-Free Days-Happy News!

I am very exited to share something with you guys today! It’s a baby step in my creative  writing efforts, yet a step in the “write” direction (hehe)! I have been writing on the platform Medium for a few weeks and they have a publication called The Weekly Knob.  Every Monday, they give you a new prompt and you then craft a story featuring that prompt. Last week’s prompt was “broom” and my story-That Witchy Season was published today!! Yea! I love this platform because you also get “recommends” instead of “likes”, and creative feedback, support and love from the Medium writing community. I know the story could have been better, I probably could have changed the title as well, however, I feel validated that my story was accepted and then published and I just wanted to share this news. I also could spend hours reading all the other wonderful stories featured by an extremely talented pool of writers, if I didn’t have so much else to do. Maybe I can read more of them tonight, and I encourage all of you to check them out as well.  Just go to medium.com/theweeklyknob/ ThatWitchySeason on Medium,  if you’d like to read my story. There’s even a Medium app, which makes it all so much easier to navigate.

In other news, we layed more of the flooring today and now have the hallway and laundry room finished!

Hallway to the master bedroom

Hallway to the master bedroom

At the halfway point in the laundry room

At the halfway point in the laundry room

Tomorrow, we’ll install the doors and trim and then we will be one step closer to (horror of all horrors) the kitchen. Shudder! I am not exited about my kitchen being destroyed so close to the holidays!!! It has to be done though, if we expect to have floors by Thanksgiving. I’m so proud of my husband and his handiwork! (I get credit for the layout) I’m his helper, cleanup girl and designer, and we make a great team!

I have also started to make a little progress on the baby blanket I’m crocheting for Taylor’s soon-to-be-born little one. Did I tell y’all the theme for the nursery is Nightmare Before Christmas? I thought it sounded odd until I went on Pinterest and literally found hundreds of pins with the decor and all sorts of other great ideas with the theme. The colors are black, white, lavender and lime green. Although I picked a very basic pattern, I’m proud of how it’s coming along so far. I’ll post a pic when I get to the halfway point.

So that’s it, plus I have three upcoming birthdays to think about and prepare for and of course the holidays are creeping ever closer. Just a few of the things on my mind (and plate) but nothing I can’t handle. I realize this time of year is busy and stressful for everyone, the way I handle it is one bite at a time, somehow it all comes together. Just try to relax and breathe! 😉

 

 

 

 

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 76-Free Days-Happy News!

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    If I have time, I’ll read your story ! T.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    Checked out the Medium, took me a bit to find your story! pretty good! Lots of neat stuff to read, got to have a 48 hr day to read every ones stuff! Good Job!! 🙂 T.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

