Day 83-Free Days-Walk, Bake and Showtime

Site of PKD Walk in Southlake Square
Site of PKD Walk in Southlake Square

This morning was finally the day for the PKD Walk, put on by the good folks in Southlake and was relatively well attended.  Nothing compared to the walks to raise money and awareness for breast cancer, and not as organized, but I was glad to be a part of it. My hubby walked with me, after the balloon release, which was emotional for me. It makes me feel bad that I could have and should have been doing more to raise awareness and money since my mom was first diagnosed. So, I was thinking of her as we released our balloon and her name was on my back as we walked. Not that many were there to see it-my hubby and I were way out in front of the pack the whole way, our pace being much quicker than most. Thanks again to everyone who donated to my “team”, even if that team turned out to be my hubby and me. I also put in my own private donations, although I would have done that online as well, I would have been able to designate part for myself and part as a pledge in my Mom’s name. She passed away two years ago from the disease. As far as I know, I’m the only one of her five children to be diagnosed as well. Anyway, I hope next years Walk is bigger and better, and that the contributions for research keep pouring in.

Later in the day, he took our son Chris to play golf as part of his birthday present. While they were gone, Becky and I secretly baked him a kickass Banana Pudding birthday cake and, just in case he smelled something cooking when he arrived back home, I made some Paleo chocolate chip cookies so he wouldn’t get suspicious. I got the recipe from http://Www.ambitiouskitchen.com and they are delicious.

My homemade Paleo chocolate chip cookies
My homemade Paleo chocolate chip cookies

After all the activity in the kitchen, I subjected Becky to my taped recording of the Rocky Horror Picture Show remake-she wasn’t impressed. Then again, she is so young, she barely remembers the original. We had fun laughing at it anyway. See, I DO remember the original and I appreciated the music of both versions. The soundtrack and of course Tim Curry (the original Frank-n-Furter) made the whole movie. So I was happy to hear all the songs again, even if they weren’t exactly the same renditions as the first. I though the remade Riff Raff was awesome and Victoria Justice was very good as Janet.

Credit:Fox
THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW: L-R: Reeve Carne, Annaleigh Ashford, Victoria Justice, Ryan McCartan and Christina Milian in THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW coming this Fall to FOX. ©2016 Fox Broadcasting Co. Cr: Steve Wilkie/FOX

 

Original stars, Tim Curry and Susan Sarandon
Original stars, Tim Curry and Susan Sarandon
The new Dr Frank-n-Furter
The new Dr Frank-n-Furter

It was kinda like the creators of this one forgot the whole point, originally, it was so outrageous for a man to be playing a transvestite with over the top makeup-just not the same with a female playing a transgender role.  Although I must say, the acting and singing would have been fine had you never seen the original and had it to compare to.

All in all it was a very good day, and the night is yet young! I can’t wait to see if Becky chickens out on performing her birthday “rap” for Chris’s birthday! Stay tuned, results will be in tomorrow, on the patio 😉

 

 

 

5 Replies to “Day 83-Free Days-Walk, Bake and Showtime”

Care to comment?

