Day 88- A Couple of Updates

Earlier in the week, I shared some news about my Dad and my hubby. Just a quick update on my Dad- He had to be catheterized again (as I anticipated), and he will need surgery in a couple of weeks, due to the results found in the tests they performed on Tuesday. We are hoping it is a solution to the problem and he can do without the catheter in the future, however, if this turns out not to be the case, he is resigned to learn how to self-cath for temporary relief. He understands this and has made his peace with it.

Yesterday, I went on the great gluten-free beer hunt, searching four different establishments and, to my surprise, I found the one I want my hubby to try…in three different places! Sprouts stores have a pretty good selection of gluten free beers, including Omission, the one I talked about in my post the other day. Goody Goody Liquor had a few, however, they charged more. Same for Whole Foods in Colleyville, they are expensive on all of their offerings, so I traipsed off to find Central Market because I heard they will let you “create your own 6-pack”, this was not the case at the Southlake store. In fact, I couldn’t find any assistants and when I did get some direction, could not find any of the beers in singles. I wanted him to try one to see if he liked it before committing to a whole 6-pack. Alas, this was not to be, I will probably go back to Sprouts and pick up a 6-pack of the Lager Omission offers and try to find a different gluten-free beer to try myself, since none of the other stores offered the Treason Ale by Dogfish Head.

It was interesting that I did find a few to choose from though, and I’m sure as it catches on, there will be more. I can’t wait to see his reaction and share it with you guys. Meanwhile, I’ll just sip my latest cabernet I picked up from Goody Goody, called Darkhorse. It was pretty good as I remember from past experience. It’s allowed on Paleo if y’all remember me saying so once upon a time…as well as vodka, tequila…anyway, now I sound like a lush so I’ll be quiet and go try to dream up a story for the writing prompt “scissors”. Any suggestions?? I’d appreciate some, the due date is midnight tomorrow if I want to be featured on The Weekly Knob this week. Comment below and I’ll be watching for them on the pato. 🙂

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 88- A Couple of Updates

  1. Scissors? Cut it out! Shear nonsense!

    My pet peeve? People who say, “I need a scissor.” It’s a PAIR of scissors. One scissor could only be used to jab at things. It takes two to tango, and it takes two to cut.

    Sorry I couldn’t give you anything useful. Good luck; you’ve got your work cut out for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    Bobby was always told not to run with scissors….you might stab yourself or someone else!……….there’s your opener! 🙂 ps..hope your dad is ok? T.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

