Day 89-Restoration Abomination!

Cabinets soon to be removed
Cabinets soon to be removed 
Cabinets to be updated
Cabinets to be updated

Omg! Someone came in during the night and stole all our cabinet doors!!

Not really, just another phase in the restoration process, one I dread the most-remodeling the kitchen…right before the holidays! My hubby insists they it will be finished in time for Thanksgiving, I’m cautiously optimistic.

I come from a family with a dad that said things like “you need me to help you with your car? Oh, that will only take 5 minutes” Two hours later…. See, you can’t anticipate problems that crop up. There might be issues with electricity or plumbing, rot or unseen water damage. That’s why I’m hopeful, but not holding my breath.

Meanwhile, in the room we just remodeled (most of the way), I have an addition that not only fit the space perfectly, is so meaningful because it was a gift from some dear friends of mine.

Artwork given to me from my friends Laurie and BJ Casson
Artwork given to me from my friends Laurie and BJ Casson

My friends and former employers, Laurie and BJ recently made the decision to give away their art collection, which was large enough to fill a gallery. It was a decision they did not come to without prayer and deep reflection. Then again, they have always been more than generous, not only with me, with all of their family and friends…and they’ve always treated me like family. When they called me and told me they wanted me to have a few pieces of their art collection, I was honored and happy they thought of me. This particular piece was in his office, I was drawn to it because it is nautical, a style my husband and I like and one that works well with the theme of our new bedroom. Then I brought it home and Dave hung it above our bed and I saw that it fit absolutely perfect, matching our colors and theme to a T! If you click on the picture, it should make it bigger. Yes, I know, we don’t have our headboard yet, patience people. My hubby does things in his own time, we will get there!

Well, it’s time for me to go to work, I hope y’all have enjoyed my updates on our remodeling progression, such as they are. I’ll keep you posted with more before and afters, trust me, the kitchen will be dramatic! See ya later on the patio! 😎

 

 

5 Replies to “Day 89-Restoration Abomination!”

  1. Thanks T! We love it! I can’t wait to get the new furniture! That’s the last step, I think we may forgo the whole headboard thing. Put some lights on the wall above our heads and that’s it. We are moving into the kitchen now, I’m ready to be done with the bedroom! 😊

    Like

Care to comment?

