Day 91-Free Days- Paying the Price

My husband announced on Friday that he had volunteered to make the chili for a function at work, a cook off I think. This meant he also had to go out and purchase the ingredients to make two gallons of chili, not to mention a brand new 8-quart crock pot for it to go in. My cheap ass would have found another way, but not him. He believes in doing things the right way, even if it costs him extra. I’m sure it will be delicious, (we will be sampling it later ๐Ÿ˜‰) and I’m also sure the crock pot will come in handy as we host family dinner so often. That’s not the point, the point is, sometimes volunteering also means paying the price. The price someone else did not want to have to pay, or spending time doing what others wouldn’t or couldn’t do. My husband is a kind and generous person, so none of this surprises me. I’m so glad he is in charge of the task, thinking of cooking in our shell of a kitchen right now makes my head spin! Hey, at least the stove still works but I’m glad we aren’t hosting a family dinner this weekend.

He also has surgery coming up on Thursday this week and is having to pay the price for the first doctor not getting all the cancer out the first time. Not to minimize it, but it is just basal cell carcinoma near his eye (thank God) and the micro surgeon plans on making sure she gets it all this time. In addition to that, he has to pay the hefty price to have the surgery done, something that wouldn’t be happening if the first doctor had done a better job the first time. I prayed for him today at church, then again later as I took a walk in the prayer garden close to my home. I wouldn’t have even known that place was there if our pastor hadn’t told us about it during the service today. I’m so glad I made it a point to attend church today, I always feel better about it afterwards. Please say a prayer for him and also my dad, as he has surgery the following week. I really appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜ŠBy the way, we do have insurance, but the out of pocket is $1000 and his deductible is $2000 (nothing cheap these days) and he may have to pay more the day of surgery. ๐Ÿ˜’ I guess it could be worse, at least we are lucky enough to have insurance, that’s more than some people can say.

8 Replies to “Day 91-Free Days- Paying the Price”

  1. I’m glad to hear your husband will be ok.
    This is one time when I feel lucky to live in the UK. I have had two suspect moles removed which were basal cell carcinoma, plus other operations, major and minor, over the years, and didn’t have to pay a penny, thanks to our brilliant National Health Service.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

