Day 95-Surgery Day or Why We Got Little Sleep

So, I’ve been kicked out of the office for the actual surgery. We waited a long, nervous 25 minutes or so, for the numbing medicine to take effect. I barely got to start this post and he was back at my side, to wait an hour and a half while they biopsy the tissue sample she removed. Dave says it feels more like a chunk was taken out, along with the feeling of her “scraping the bone”! Did I mention he’s a terrible waiter?? Lol, what they should have done was give him a Valium to take the minute he got to the office!

We’ve actually been “waiting” since 3:30am, since our dogs got me up to go out, that woke Dave up and soon the worrying commenced and sleep was done.

Those who have been following along know that I have ear problems. That, when the sensitivity is high, even the sheets rustling or the dog’s nails on the newly installed laminate flooring feels like someone driving an ice pick into my eardrum. This morning was one of those times. And no, alcohol was not a factor. I didn’t even have a glass of wine last night. I didn’t want to be groggy when we got up….which I am…..from 4 1/2 hrs of sleep.

We are hopeful that the surgeon does not have to take too big a patch of skin, considering where it is in proximity to his eye/nose. By the way, it was the same as last time-laid back in a chair, surgeon chasing the cancer cells with a scalpel blade. At least she was fast. I was picturing a surgi-center or outpatient clinic, so you can imagine how I was a little apprehensive when I saw it was going to be exactly the same way as last time he went through this.

Say a prayer they got it all this time and that she is more professional when patching him up. Guys sometimes thing scars are cool. My guy thinks smallest is best. I don’t care one way or the other, as long as he keeps his nose and doesn’t lose his eye, I’m all good. I mean, basal cell carcinoma is what we’re talking about here. It’s pretty serious if left unchecked. He went a year between the last surgery and this one.

Luckily, he’s getting Mohs surgery, touted as the Gold Standard in removal of this and squamous cell cancers. It’s a micrographic surgery developed by Dr Frederick Mohs in the 1930s. It has the lowest recurrence rate, highest cure rate and best cosmetic result of any skin cancer treatment.

Mohs surgical technique

Mohs surgical technique

Whew, I’m relaxed now, even if he still isn’t. Actually, he’s making jokes at this point, maybe the lidocaine soaked into his brain, lol. Surgery is nerve wracking for the patient, even on the best day in the best of circumstances. I am trying to be a good wife, patient and comforting, compassionate and caring. Before we get home, I’m sure I’ll have wanted to punch him in the nose, at least once, lol.  Did I mention he’s also a control freak?? Btw, I’m driving us home, no matter how much he protests!

Update: They had to go pretty deep, but they got it all-praise the Lord! Plus, he was so good on the way home, and now he is resting comfortably after having some lunch and a dose of Tylenol (the only thing they said he could have).We go back in a week for the suture removal, but he can take the big bandage off Saturday. No exercise or lifting for 2 weeks! We will get through it, lol. Just might have to put the remodel on hold for a bit. Thanks for all your prayers and well wishes!

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 95-Surgery Day or Why We Got Little Sleep

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    Glad things went well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Yes Mother, lol!

    Like

  3. Whew! Thanks for writing about the ordeal and not keeping us in suspense too long. Hope the recovery is quick and painless.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

