Day 96-Today in History-November 4th

I was uninspired as to what to blog about today, so I decided to do a little research and came up with a few interesting facts about today’s date in history.

The Space Shuttle Columbia

The Space Shuttle Columbia

In 1981, the second scheduled flight of the space shuttle Columbia was cancelled with only 31 seconds lefts in the countdown.

Hurricane Michelle

Hurricane Michelle

In 2001, Hurricane Michelle hit Cuba, destroying crops and thousands of homes. The United States the gesture of sending humanitarian aid. The next month, on December 16, Cuba received the first commercial food shipment from the U.S. in nearly 40 years.

"Will" Rogers

“Will” Rogers

"Art" Carney

“Art” Carney

Today is the birthday of many famous folks as well. Many have passed on, including “Will” Rogers, Walter Cronkite, “Art” Carney, and Cameron Mitchell

Loretta Swit

Loretta Swit

Still with us today are: Loretta Swit, Laura Bush, Jeff Probst and Matthew McConaughey

Jeff Probst

Jeff Probst

Matthew Mc Conaughey

Matthew Mc Conaughey

In 1984, Prince’s “Purple Rain” tour began with seven sold out shows at Detroit’s Joe Louis Arena. Sheila E was the opening act.

Prince- Purple Rain Tour

Prince- Purple Rain Tour

In 1972, The Jackson Five appeared on “Soul Train”- Unfortunately, I was unable to capture an image for this one.

In 1957, Jerry Lee Lewis performed “Great Balls of Fire” on “American Bandstand”

Jerry Lee Lewis on American Bandstand

Jerry Lee Lewis on American Bandstand

Maybe if everyone likes this post, and wants to see more like it, I could make it a regular Friday feature! Let me know in the comments. Enjoy your evening, now go make some history of your own!

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 96-Today in History-November 4th

  1. GeorgieMoon says:

    I sometimes write similar blog posts, about what happened on a certain date. And you forgot the most important thing – November 4 is also my birthday!
    I wrote a post about it – https://georgiemoon2016.wordpress.com/2016/11/04/rain-today-but-the-wine-is-fine/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Aww, I didn’t know! So….Happy Birthday late, I hope it was great!!
    Thanks for reading and I’ll check out your post too!

    Like

  3. Kim Smyth says:

    Thanks T!
    Now that I’m doing the IBMC challenge, I may not do it this Friday, maybe I’ll start it next Friday!

    Like

Care to comment?

