Current Events-I Apologize

Good morning fellow bloggers! I’m writing a second post this morning to apologize for concentrating so much on the IBMC challenge that I haven’t been keeping up with all the latest events like Veteran’s Day, the election results, the super moon, my new grand baby…oh wait, I did tell y’all about that!

It’s been hard to get anything done around here, what with a gaping hole in my kitchen, the thought of writing 24/7 to keep my word count high for NaNoWriMo and the impending birth (now arrival) of the new grand baby, that I’ve found it difficult to focus on anything else. Not to mention the medical events that have been happening like my dad’s and husband’s recent surgeries.

A very comfy looking Rayven

A very comfy looking Rayven

I wrote a piece on Medium this morning about getting up early every day to fit the bulk of my writing in, and how that is the only way I can manage it. The earlier I get up, the more I can get done, especially on the days I work my part time job with Stephanie-M-T-F are those days. So, this morning I started around five, got my first blog post done and my piece for 100 Naked Words on Medium.

Now, I’m writing this post to update you on my thoughts of the above mentioned events that just sort of slipped past my addled brain. Yesterday, during church, I was again reminded of Veteran’s Day as they showed all the veterans in our congregation up on the big screen. I didn’t know they were going to do that, or I would have submitted my picture, since I am a veteran also. Of course I was aware of the fact that it was Veteran’s Day on the actual day, I just didn’t remember to write a post about it. Seeing all the vets in church always makes me emotional, because I realize how important the sacrifice to our country is, and I’m proud to say I had a part in it as well. My husband also served, as did my dad, his dad, and many other members of our family.

As far as the election results, I will only say that I was one of the people happy with the results, and I will hope and pray that I was right and he does a stand up job for our country. I’m already tired of the hate speak, the protests, and nasty comments and finally took some time to stream the interview on 60 minutes last night while Dave was watching a different channel. I’ve just been doing my best to ignore the negative and focus on the positive aspects and just try to move forward with what’s going on in my world.

I heard about the super moon but did not venture outside last night to see it. I also heard that Tuesday will be the best night for viewing it. Is this true, is that what y’all have heard? I will try to view it then, but probably not at two in the morning-the projected best time to see it. I don’t get enough sleep as it is!

So, my point with all this is, yes, I still know what’s going on around me, I just have to make a concerted effort to write extra posts if I want to keep the blog up to date…which I do. Not that y’all are sitting around with baited breath, waiting on the latest news from me, but I like to think you are somewhat interested in my opinions, pictures of the new baby, or tidbits I happen to whip up in a jiffy to keep things fresh and new.

Oh, did I forget to mention, I also have a new do- I need to get someone to take a good picture, I don’t take selfies, but most of my friends and family seem to think it looks good on me. It is short and dark, it works with my short stature and I think it makes me look taller. The hairdresser did an excellent job and my best friend actually said I looked sexy…what?? Anyway, I’m very happy with the results and I think it is going to be way easier to take care of.

One more thing before I go, I need your help with this week’s word prompt for The Weekly Knob on Medium- hairbrush. Any thoughts or ideas, beginning sentences you can share would be of great help. I don’t think it is cheating to get a little push from my fellow writers out there, so lend me a hand if you can. I would appreciate it! Now go and have a great Monday everybody!

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Current Events-I Apologize

  1. msgt3227 says:

    Ok, hope I remember all I want to say… Thank you for your service! Happy belated Veterans Day! Congrats again on the new grand-baby! I don’t recall rioting in the streets when POTUS 44 was elected… go figure! I viewed Super Moon as it rose last nite… wonderful (and beats 2 am….) My hairbrush, I bought when I was 14, with my own money (45 years ago). Don’t get much use these days, not much hair to comb-over anymore!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      Awww, well you’re welcome and thanks to you to for your service!
      Thanks for the compliment, we think she’s special. Yeah, I don’t remember that either! Is there a story behind that hairbrush I need to know? 😉

      Like

Care to comment?

