Day 112-Free Days-Saturday Fun

Yesterday we made more progress in the kitchen with the help of my youngest son Christopher. It is so nice to have his help and for him to be so knowledgable and skilled, really helps my husband out and makes the job go so much faster.

Another step closer as walls go back in
Another step closer as walls go back in

I serve as food service and clean up crew,  as walls go back in and electrical boxes are reworked. I saw my husband get shocked twice, something that scares the crap out of me-my Dad almost lost his life to the very same thing. (Although that was a work accident, not something he did at home)

While the guys  work, I talk to Chris, trying to glean as many facts as I can to help me understand his busy life and relationships. He is doing well, working hard and managing his own finances, spending as much time as he possibly can with his girlfriend and roommates, although it’s not much-he is on call most of the time, due to the nature of his new job.  He works for a large disaster and  restoration company (Belfor) and has to go when disaster occurs.

While challenging, the job has taught him many new skills and will continue to do so. He gets to travel sometimes as well, depending on what the nature of the disaster is. So far, he has been lucky and not had to deal with anything gruesome. That day will come though, I just pray he has the strength and stomach to deal with it.  They go to everything from floods to fires, weather related disasters and man made messes.  The job has helped him not only hone his construction skills, but people skills as well. Some day he will be managing crews on big jobs, so learning to deal with homeowners and listening to supervisors teaches him valuable lessons.

I’m lucky to have skilled handymen in my life, from my Dad to my hubby and kids-my sisters- and brother-in-law all help to save us money and help us create a better, more productive use of our space and modernize the dated condition our house was in when we purchased it a year ago.

When the work was done for the day, my husband and I headed off to Dallas for an electric expo that was going on, stopping at the mall for a short shopping break (I needed new jeans) and I saw the most expensive television I’ve ever laid eyes on! This monster was 100 inches and featured LED technology-the cost? $60, 000!!! What?? Why? How could anyone afford that? It was too much for my mind to process, so we moved on to the theater room, where I was treated to the experience of viewing a movie (or a few minutes of one anyway) while sitting in motion activated seating. That was cool! As the action happened on the screen, the chairs rocked and rolled, making you feel like you were riding along.  I could get used to that!

The Bunco Queens showing off their prizes
The Bunco Queens showing off their prizes

img_3642 img_3645After we got back, I hurried off to a night of Bunco with the group I played with a couple of months ago. It was a fun night, complete with snacks and prizes-although I didn’t win one. It’s fun to get out and socialize with the ladies every once in a while. Funny thing, the older we get, the more that health problems become the topic of conversation. I was glad when it turned around to crafts and was treated to pictures one very talented lady showed us of her latest crocheted creations.

All in all, it was a fun and productive Saturday and I’m getting ready to go and help the family ready my mother-in-law’s house for the coming Thanksgiving celebration. There is much work to do, so I’ll catch y’all later. Stay warm and I’ll catch y’all later!

Care to comment?

