Day 114-Thoughts on Community-NaNoWriMo update

Oxford dictionaries define community as:

  1. A group of people living in the same place or having  a particular characteristic in common (Haltom City’s Vietnamese Community) for example

  2. A feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests and goals. (The sense of community that organized religion can provide)

The first definition I relate to say, living in a trailer or rv park. It’s a small community, where all the folks there share a common thing-they live in a trailer or recreational vehicle; i.e.; they can all relate to something. They share a common living space and can congregate, talk about it, share experiences and ideas, help each other out.

The second definition I relate to the blogging world. It is the sense of community with these folks where one can share feelings, help provide a service, commiserate with each other, that makes writers want to stay. We fellowship with each other much like people in church do. Sans the covered dishes and physical hand holding, we still feel a sense of caring from the others in the group. It’s a community I’m proud to be a part of and hope to belong to for a very long time. I enjoy having all of you to talk to and welcome the feedback you provide. Some people provide a service with their blogs, others treat them like a journal and still others provide a friendly space for people to share their experiences, feelings and advice. I’m not sure how my blog helps all of you, I just hope it does in some small way.

I bring all this up because this week is all about family, another community of sorts, where we all gather to eat and give thanks for the blessings we have been bestowed. It’s a time for sharing and caring, a precursor to the magical giving spirit of Christmas. A time for showing our love and appreciation to each other by the cooking and eating of food, a re-creation, if you will, of the first meal in America put on by the Pilgrims.

We used to travel to Mississippi at this time of year for a family reunion and Thanksgiving all rolled into one. I miss those days and the fuzzy feeling I got from my little community of aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents. They are distant now, raising their own families, and life is so busy for everyone. It’s sad that all we have is social media to keep us in touch with one another. It seems the only other thing that brings us all together (those who are left) is a death in the family. The last time I saw any of my Miss. family was two years ago or so, when my Mom passed away.  It is sad really, and I’m just as much to blame for not keeping in touch. We traveled there to see my sister in Biloxi, although we didn’t (we ended up visiting my niece) because she (my sister) was in mourning for her “other” mother. Later on, after Mom passed, there was a family reunion on my Dad’s side, and I saw a whole different community of people, some I’d never met before. It felt good and strong, coming together with all these people and we promised to stay in touch. We talk a little more than before-on social media of course, but that’s about all.

So, we gather with those closest to us come Thanksgiving, my dad, brother and two sons that live here in the area, and Dave’s side, Claudette (his mom), his brother and wife, and his sister-in-law and her daughter and hubby.  Our family, our community is shrinking, where one time it seemed it was growing out of hand. Now that some of the other kids are grown and moved away, some of our people are sick and cannot attend, and some have passed on, we truly need to cherish and nurture the ones we are with and cherish the time we all have left together on this earth.

Likewise, we need to nurture our blogging community-share our stories, reach out to each other in times of need, and give out the information that we need to help one another reach success. I hope everyone reading this has a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving, I hope you achieve the goals you’ve set for yourself and I hope you are spending quality time with the community you live in.  As for my goals, this month it’s all about the writing because I am woefully short of my promised 50,000 word count. I need to turn and burn today because as of yesterday, my word count was 23,031. Ten more days to the finish line folks- can I make it?  We will just have to see. I have a few assignments that, if I really put my nose to the grindstone, might get me passed the halfway mark. Wish me luck, stay warm and dry, and happy food prep to everyone! We may pop a ham in the oven while we still have one, that will be our contribution along with the afore mentioned relish tray supplies. Whatever else gets accomplished may just have to do some in someone else’s kitchen- seeing as we don’t really have one right now. 😉

What are your thoughts on community?  Where are you in your goals?  Sharing is caring- put your comments in the box and let me hear it people! I’ll be waiting on the patio! 🙂

Care to comment?

