Day 115-Ready For Feast and Family

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

I hope you all are busy in the kitchen getting ready for your own feast- I will live vicariously through you this time! Actually, we  still have our oven and microwave, Dave will be warming the ham we bought for the dinner, here in a little while.

What are some of your Thanksgiving traditions and memories?

Photo credit: Getty images Old pride pic from the 60's

Photo credit: Getty images
Old parade pic from the 60’s

I remember as a child being exited to get up and watch the parades. Before they got so commercial and everything has to be about a sponsor, they were actually pretty neat. When we were kids, the joy was in all the brightly colored floats, the super talented marching bands and the cartoon character balloons, featuring our favorites like Bugs Bunny and Mighty Mouse.

The new Humpty Dumpty balloon, followed by a redesigned Olive Oyl holding Swee' Pea, floats down Broadway in the annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City, Thursday, Nov. 27, 1986.  (AP Photo/Ron Frehm)

The new Humpty Dumpty balloon, followed by a redesigned Olive Oyl holding Swee’ Pea, floats down Broadway in the annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City, Thursday, Nov. 27, 1986. (AP Photo/Ron Frehm)

Woody Woodpecker makes his way down Broadway in the 64th annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City, Thursday, Nov. 23, 1989.  (AP Photo/Ron Frehm)

Woody Woodpecker makes his way down Broadway in the 64th annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City, Thursday, Nov. 23, 1989. (AP Photo/Ron Frehm)

Another memory is playing football in the backyard, once we let our dinner settle a bit, although, I only remember doing that a couple of times.

My best memories of all though are from the years we traveled to Lucedale, Mississippi, where all my aunts, uncles and cousins lived, to visit my grandparents. They lived smack dab in the middle of a pecan orchard. Grandmother had us kids busy ourselves, picking buckets of pecans, and of course we were happy to, knowing we would earn a dime a bucket and then feast on the pecan pie she eventually made from them. I loved playing with all of my cousins, getting into mischief and hearing all the latest gossip. (this was usually later, after the feast was over) It’s so sad that the older I get, the harder it is to recover my memories, I wish I could be with my cousins today so they can help me out!

Thanks to the magic of Facebook, we at least try to stay in touch with each other. In fact, some of us spoke last night after my cousin Rosa prompted us to remember or state our favorite Thanksgiving memory.

I miss those trips and all the family we lost. Being married and having children, we had to start our own traditions and split time between families. I became known as the dressing maker and we would drop it by my parent’s on the way to David’s Aunt Wanda’s in Wylie, Tx.  One of the best memories I have of those trips is getting iced in one year, and all of us sleeping on the floor in what was then a pretty small house!

I hope you share some of your best memories with me and that you make some new ones, have a safe and happy Thanksgiving and I will try to post some pictures from mine later on.

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 115-Ready For Feast and Family

  1. msgt3227 says:

    One of my favorite Thanksgiving memories was an annual tradition… While my Mom was busy preparing the food for a late luncheon turkey meal, Dad would pile the three oldest kids into the station and we would drive to our Aunt Jinx’s parents’ farm and go “hunting”. Since we all were carrying a shotgun, and we spent 2 or 3 hours walking around the rolling farmland, it was hunting. Since we never saw anything to shoot at, ever (three kids hootin’ & hollerin’ seem to scare wild animals) it was “hunting”… lots of tired legs followed my lots of wonderful food to eat… Happy Thanksgiving Kim!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Ahhh, that’s a great story. I think your dad knew exactly what he was doing, lol! Hope yours was great!

    Like

  3. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving, Kim.

    Like

Care to comment?

