Day 117-BFSM-Black Friday Shopping Madness

Chris and Rebecca
Chris and Rebecca
Sisters in law, Connie and Terri-with her brother and his daughter
Sisters in law, Connie and Terri-with her brother and his daughter
My dad Gus, finishing up his meal and watching football
My dad Gus, finishing up his meal and watching football

Good morning and happy Black Friday to all the crazy shoppers out there about to brave the cold temps and mad throngs to get the best deals of the year! Right?

Maybe…Or maybe it’s just a bunch of hype-Either way, I hope everyone is careful and has a safe, happy, shopping experience. Like many other people in my family, I’ll be going to work for a few hours before I make my final decision whether to join in the madness. I might…then again, there is much to do at home to finish the kitchen project.

Yesterday was nice, we had dinner together as a family but then all went separate directions, which felt weird, but then that’s life when kids get significant others and have to do the two family visitation thing. I get it,  we all did it, but it still feels weird to me. I always feel pulled in three different directions and then wrestle with my guilt that I did the wrong thing, when my dad and brother go home alone, my husband and I go to his brother’s, my son and his girlfriend go off to her folks and my oldest son takes off to “his other family”, some friends of his to visit with their mom. I always feel like the party should stay and hang out together somewhere, but it never works out that way.

Anyway, I took a few pics, sorry that they turned out kind of dark. The food was delish and everyone seemed to have a nice time. It is bound to feel a bit melancholy when we are still missing family and pining for the ones who normally are with us, but couldn’t be this year because of sickness or the fact that they live far away. So yeah, I am still feeling a bit out of sorts.

Rebecca and my Mother-in-law, Claudette
Rebecca and my Mother-in-law, Claudette
    Our turkey before carvingOur turkey before carving

I hope the day was special for you all and you enjoyed spending time with the ones you were with…however short that time might have been. 🙂

 

 

2 Replies to “Day 117-BFSM-Black Friday Shopping Madness”

Care to comment?

