Day 126-31 Day Blog Challenge (day 4)

img_0637

I can’t remember yesterday, so this one will be a tough one for me, but seems like we were living in South Carolina at the time.

I must have been about five years old. I vaguely remember my dad entering the room and congratulating me on tying my shoes by myself. I was feeling proud. I think he was dressed nice, so maybe we were getting ready for church? Not sure, cause I can’t remember whether we even went to church yet at that time.

I don’t remember going to church until we lived in Texas.

Isn’t it strange how you can have your own memory but then someone tells you a story from your past and you wonder if you’re really remembering it yourself or just seeing it in your mind because you were told about it? I have that happen all the time.

Like the time we lived in Ocean Springs, Ms- I was told the story so many times about how I almost choked to death on a lifesaver candy (irony) while singing and swinging in the back yard, then a neighbor saw me struggling and came over and rescued me by giving me whatever method was used back then. A blow between the shoulder blades?  Anyway, now when I picture that in my mind, I think I’m remembering the incident, but am I? Or was I painted such a vivid picture that I’m just imagining the memory?

If it IS my memory, then that would be the earliest, cause I was about 3 or 4 then.

What is yours? I can’t wait to hear it! I need some good stories today, it’s a crappy, cold, rainy day-perfect for non-stop reading, (after church of course) and I hope you send me lots of material!

Time for coffee, y’all try to enjoy your day, whatever the weather. See ya later, on the patio ❄️😉☃️

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 126-31 Day Blog Challenge (day 4)

  1. I THINK I remember being dressed in a sailor suit and climbing some steep concrete steps. The party must have been a shower, because I was to pull out a large ship on wheels. I suspect there was a picture of this ridiculous set-up, and that created a memory for me. The event must have been 70 years ago.

    I was five when I cracked my kneecap and had to wear a half brace. One of Mother’s friends came to visit and brought a basket of gifts. I could open one an hour after she left. That was like magic!!!! I still remember inflating a plastic-type goo with a red straw. When it was big enough, I pinched it off the straw and sealed it, making it like a balloon. That has to be one of the most thoughtful gifts I ever received.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One that I remember was when I was about 5 or 6 and I played soccer. I played defense (I think), and the ball was in play for us on the offense side. I remember playing with the little flowers on the ground. The ball came and I was not paying attention. Everyone on the sidelines was yelling my name. Whoops! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    I remember (I was about 3-4yrs old) getting up in the middle of the night and sitting in the corner of the kitchen with a jar of peanut butter eating it by the finger full and my father catching me, I don’t remember getting in to trouble for it…till this day I LOVE Peanut Butter!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

