Day 133-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 11)

img_0637

Before I checked the challenge for today, I read the response from Suze over at Obsolete Childhood, and she makes a valid point; are we supposed to say which moment we are most proud of or for ourselves? Well, if I’m talking about of myself I’d have to say it’s the day I graduated from basic training in the Army, because it’s the hardest thing (so far) that I’ve ever done. Imagine being a woman, one that stands only 4’9″ making it through basic training, at a coed training facility, no less. Not that I didn’t get help and lots of encouragement along the way, I did. It was me, however, that managed to get through all the marches, tests and physical challenges that basic training involves. When the big guys marched, I was usually running to keep up. When the others at the gun range were shooting the targets effortlessly, I was struggling to see through the sweat rolling into my eyes and the too-large-for-me helmet falling down over them, yet I made it through with a sharpshooter badge. I remember being upset about my parents not attending my graduation ceremony, yet I understood they wanted to, just didn’t have the money to make the trip. As I stood with my fellow soldiers though, I was proud of my accomplishments and excited about the next step, which was AIT. Even though my Army “career” was short, I’m proud of every moment of the four and a half years I served and every accomplishment along the way.

Of course, I was proud every time the doctor handed me each of my three sons, the first one who looked so much like me when I finally got to see him, hours after his birth. I had to have C-sections for all of them, but that didn’t diminish the fact that I made them.  Guess that means I was proud for myself? Not sure…, Suze is the expert on that one. Go read her blog after you read mine and see if you can make the distinction, my head is still a little fuzzy with this stupid cold or whatever that I have going on.

I never finished college, or got any fancy awards to brag about, simply getting my high school diploma was another proud moment I had in my life, because it almost didn’t happen. I think I squeezed by because I had some pretty sympathetic teachers and they really didn’t want to see me for another semester, lol.  So that’s all, I look forward to reading all of yours and seeing how you handled this question for the day. It was hard for me because I can’t think straight, allergy meds do a number on my brain!! I’m off to church so see you guys later, on the patio! 

 

 

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 133-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 11)

  1. Suze says:

    oh lordie, Kim……I haven’t got any answers! lol…I just babbled until something sounded about right. You finished boot camp! woot! good for YOU! that trumps my athena award any freaking day! And you did it before they changed the rules to make it ‘easier’ for the women. Boy did I ever get po’d when some airhead on tv said “women can now compete with other women instead of failing to keep up with the men”. Women in the service have to work twice as hard, no doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      Oh, thank you Suze! Yeah, I was in basic in 1979 so…it definitely was tough. We had small breaks here and there but our drill sergeants were pretty tough on us. I did so many push-ups I’m surprised I didn’t make it to China, lol! You’re awards are nothing to blow off either! You should be proud of all you’ve accomplished, because you worked hard to get them!

      Like

  2. That is awesome about graduating boot camp, and loved reading the specifics of what you did. Even if I were able-bodied I would not have been able to do what you did! And thank you for your service!
    Graduation days are high on my list for sure:

    ****Forewarning’s mine are long****

    Graduating from high school, and walking across the stage to get my diploma! I had made it 12 years on my feet with stairs, long hallways, and busybody peeps! I knew that when I graduated I was headed for the wheelchair permanently as my balance and coordination had become more of an issue. Our high school auditorium was not big enough to hold the graduating class plus all of our family and friends so we graduated at the Oral Roberts Maybee Center. I will mention this was in Tulsa OK! One of the 1st things my senior advisor was so excited to tell me that they had a ramp so I could use my wheelchair. I looked at him like he was nuts! I told him that I am not going out like that! So with the help of 2 junior male friends who helped me with his like dress shoes on I smoothly walked across the stage to get my diploma! They had me stay on the stage instead of walking down back to my seat. The principal of the school ended up reading a poem of what the students and faculty thought of me. I did not know he was going to do that. I got my 2nd standing ovation and I cried and cried! I have it on video and you can see the tears coming down my face nonstop. That was a night I will never forget!

    The other one was when I graduated college, is something that was never on my agenda! I started college late at 22 taking remedial reading and writing classes. This is when I was living back in OK with a friend from high school. She was taking college classes and so I liked it. She encouraged me to “keep my mind busy.” About 5 month’s later I moved back home to Texas, and got back into school at the local junior college here. I was driving at the time and before I knew it I had my associates degree! I was 27 (6 years at the junior college at). Because of my disability progressing I knew I would not be able to handle a 9 to 5 job so I was not worried of the time it took me. I thought I was done put a fork in me but one of my best friends at the time encouraged me to come with her to live in a dorm at UNT. I thought she was nuts! I am 27 and way too old to live in a dorm with 18 and 19 year old kids! I ended up doing it, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. There were lots of challenges along the way and different reasons that made me want to throw in the towel, but at the ripe old-age of 30 I did it! Even did a paid summer internship for 2 summers, and got myself a van as a graduation present to me!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    I was the 1st out of 5 kids in our family to graduate from High school, and my most proud moment was in 1993 Graduating in the top 90% (grades) and getting a medal for it at Chef Training College ! Those are my top 2 proudest moments!

    Like

Care to comment?

