Blogger Recognition Award

img_0661

I have to thank sweet Suze for this nomination and I will attempt to follow the rules:

  • thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog-again, that would be Suze over at Obsolete Childhood , thanks again.
  • write a post to show your award (this be it)
  • attach the award to the post-there’s a picture but I need to link it up
  • give a brief story about how your blog started
  • give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
  • select 15 other bloggers you want to give the award to
  • comment on each blog and let them know know you have nominated them &provide a link to the award post you created

I can’t really remember the reason why I started the blog, wait, yes I can. I previously had a blog called My Paleo Pantry and I wanted something different, where I could talk to people and help them at the same time. So, I created Kimmy’s Patio-a place where we can talk about anything-to share all kinds of news you can use, or as a kind of daily diary, or just whatever you guys want to hear or discuss. This year we have talked about everything from my Paleo lifestyle to the recent birth of my granddaughter, Rayven. You have followed along as I’ve been on vacation and various fishing trips and I have followed all of you and shared in your joys and disappointments. Nothing is taboo here…at least for me.

To anyone wanting to start a blog, think about why you are doing it. Do you want to make money, share something meaningful with your audience, or a little of both. Do you want to make a difference, or just hear yourself talk? Really think about how you can help people, and you will succeed.

Oh my goodness, there are so many deserving blogs out there-I’ll refrain from naming some of the same blogs Suze did, even though we travel in the same circles, some may not want to do this twice in two days. (even though it’s an honor, it’s some work too!)

Virginia Views– One of the first blogs I ever followed, Dor is a sweet gal, writing about her life in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Sharing recipes and and more about country life, check her out for her take on peace in the valley.

Hearts Everywhere-A daily account into the life of Russian immigrant turned New Yorker, Galina is an excellent writer, chronicling her life and experiences through a yearlong project of personal essays. She is brutally honest, and sometimes brash, yet always an interesting read.

Does It Count If My Fingers Were Crossed– Known to her blogging buds as Mrs Magilla, Shannon Butler is hilarious and relevant, crazy and chatty…a real hoot to read. Go check her out, but don’t be surprised if she smacks you with some reality!

Quintessential Editor– Obvi, right? Wrong! Not your everyday editor, Corey is a novelist, slayer of dragons and new father, all rolled into one. For writing tips and services plus insights into his latest quests and conquests, check out his terrific blog…if you dare. Oh, he’s a pet lover as well, sometimes sharing pics of his kitty and his cutie pie, Thor. (Who would have guessed his child would be named that?)

Photo’s And Word’s of a Wandering Mind– Join Ladybuggz and “T” as she works through living with chronic pain to bring you beautiful photos and bits of humor from Vancouver, BC and Port Alberni. She’s been blogging since 2012 (way longer than me) and always manages to bring a smile to my face. We’ve become quite close this year, she has that way of making you feel like you’ve known her forever!

Mehrling Muse– You must go visit Anne as she spins tales about life in the mountains of North Carolina. She shares her family and makes you feel like you’re a welcome addition. A transplanted New Yorker, she is at once funny and introspective, she is the pen pal everyone misses having from their childhood.

Old Guy Walking– Kevin is a wonderful guy who does a weekly feature called Thursday Doors, where he shares pictures of interesting pictures of doors from places all over the midwest. He is an interesting and accomplished man who’s education in history makes for compelling reading and his photos are breathtaking. Go check out his doors and his historical accounts and tell him Kim sent ya!

Storyshucker– If you like good stories (and who doesn’t?), you must head over to Stuart’s blog, where he spins some marvelous tales. I could stay and read all day, if I had more time. There are plenty of stories to keep you busy, each of them prize worthy if you ask me!

I’m going to stop with eight, although I’m supposed to nominate 15, these are at the top in my blogosphere, sans the ones that Suze named. I’d nominate her back, but I don’t want her to cuss me out, since that ain’t exactly proper blogger behavior, lol!

 

 

10 Replies to “Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. I wouldn’t cuss too bad ya know…just a little bit! Love all the nominations! I follow two of them already but am intrigued with the one’s I haven’t met yet. Love when new doors open due to these little awards of ours!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. He’s been sleeping alot, very lethargic, tail down but now we have the right food to feed him and we still have 2 more tests outcomes to wait for…my poor baby, plus he has an eye infection / almost blind…at least he loves the food! We don’t have kids, so he’s all we have! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. How kind of you to include me, Kim! I hardly recognized myself as the pen pal everyone misses from their childhood. I was the one who longed for pen pals. I would have given anything to have had several from faraway places. Who could have guessed that we would have that as adults, blogging on WordPress???? This is truly a dream come true. I know responding to nominations is marvelous for finding new friends. Doing the writing for it would be fun, but I’m just too busy right now. I’m so sorry. Guess I’m feeling my age, too — birthday tomorrow! I would just as soon skip it, but my family believes everyone should have their day in the limelight. Our older grandson will be with us until January 9, and the younger one is coming Christmas night to stay a week. One of my best friends is coming to visit in the middle of January. The best thing is that I don’t have time to dust.

    Thank you again for such kind words. I’m thrilled to have found you here and look forward to reading many more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

