Day 143-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 21)

img_0637

Today we are supposed to talk about something we miss- well, how about someone? I miss my Mom. Every day and especially now, at this time of year…the holidays. We had a tumultuous relationship, but that doesn’t take away the fact that she was my mom and I loved her, feared her, respected her and worshipped her…all at the same time. No one knows the pain of loss except those who have lost, and I am feeling that pain right now. I know my husband is also feeling this way, it wasn’t that long ago that he lost his oldest brother, and his dad. I feel for anyone going through this at the holidays, I’m sure we are all in the same frame of mind.

I opened my special box I made to keep her memory alive, filled with pictures and momentos, trying to find some good ones from Christmas pasts, I didn’t have many but compiled a few on one of her old handkerchiefs I saved. Like me, she used to have long hair, but the older she got, the more she lost-due to illness and genetics (I’m losing mine too) and you can see the difference in the pics I chose. I’m sure there are more, but my boxes of pictures are yet unpacked and I don’t have time to dig them out today.

img_0662

Mom, I miss you, and I wish you were here to see my new house, share in our celebration of the holidays, and see our new grand baby. (pictures of her anyway) It doesn’t get any easier, but with the passing of time, memories fade, but love does not. I so miss talking to you and sharing the important milestones and silly stories. I can’t wait to see you again, but until then, I’ll cherish your memory through the pictures I’ve saved, I wear your lipstick cause it reminds me of you, and I’ll keep your memory alive through the words I write.

Merry Christmas to all of our missed loved ones in Heaven.

4 Replies to “Day 143-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 21)”

  1. I never really got to know my mother, I was the baby of the family and was close to her up until she left when I was 7, sometimes I day dream about how I could of helped her and maybe taken care of her…. but the strongest memory of her is; of her allowing me to cut school one day because my boots got filled with water and we just cuddled on the couch in front of a roaring fire…..Now I’m going to cry…….T.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

