Day 144-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 22)

img_0637

Ok, this one I can handle…that is, if they mean 10 favorite songs of all time? Or do they mean my favorite 10 currently?? I’ll go with all time!

  • Spirit in the Sky (Norman Greenbaum)-released in 1969 it was classified as psychedelic rock, hard rock, gospel- I didn’t hear it until around 1973, back when we listened to station KFJZ and regardless of the genre intended, I always considered it a gospel song that rocked…it has been on my favorite song list ever since. In fact, it’s probably responsible for me turning rebel from country to rock at an early age
  • Dream On (Aerosmith)- still popular today, this iconic tune was released the same year (1973) and remains one of my all time favs
  • Kashmir (Led Zeppelin)- two years later came my favorite from Led Zeppelin and one that pretty much shaped the future of rock for me and dictated the type of music I would love forever. I’ve been a rocker since I was 12, that will never change, even though I love all types of music. It just got harder from there.
  • Wishing You Were Here (Chicago)- this was the first group my parents ever bought me an album for, although this song wasn’t on the one they chose. It still remains one of my favorite all time songs and was release around the same time as Kashmir. Remember, I was listening to a radio station that played a mix of different rock/pop songs and those were the songs that shaped my life.
  • Purple Rain (Prince)- yes, I know, not technically rock, but Prince came along at a time in my life when I was very needy, he filled some kind of hole in me and I fell in love with him from first sight. I’ve seen the movie so many times, I know the script and was devastated when he died. Although Steven Tyler from Aerosmith was my Elvis, Prince was my Micheal Jackson.
  • Man in the Box (Alice in Chains)- I told you, it just gets harder from here! My tastes went to all kinds of heavy, hard hitting guitar riffs, and hasn’t changed since then. I started listening to groups like Nirvana, Soundgarden, Metallica and the like-my current radio station of choice is Octane on Sirius/XM and hardly ever moves off of it. I own five or more Alice cds (same with Aerosmith and Ted Nugent) and have a hard time picking favorites from here on because I love so many different songs. I used to follow this local band around that covered this song, they got sick of me asking for it every time I went to see them, lol.
  • Word Up (Korn) – this song was originally done in 1986 by Cameo but became a favorite of mine when Korn resurrected it in 2004. By the way, Korn is still one of my favorite groups, I’ve seen them several times in concert
  • Rock Candy (Montrose)-going backwards a little bit in time here, while racking my brain for all time favorites, I remembered how fired up I used to get in Korea every time the DJ played this song. It got to the point that when I walked into the club, he automatically cued this record up…which cued me into a sort of tantric dance mode in which I would grab the closest sucker I could find and drag him onto the dance floor! Sung by Sammy Hagar when he was with Montrose, it still gets me going, even today.
  • Bring Me to Life (Evanescence)- can’t leave my girls out, this is my favorite hard rock song by a female group since the days I listened to Heart. In my book, girls can rock just as hard as the guys and Amy Lee proves it in this hard rock/rap song. My favorite girl groups when I was younger include Pat Benatar and Joan Jett besides Heart (who was the second group I ever saw in concert)
  • Christmas Eve (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) just in time for Christmas, this song is a hard rock version of a Christmas classic and has been my favorite ever since it came out in 1996. In fact, I’m going to see them in concert today and I can’t wait!! My son’s girlfriend won four tickets and she, knowing how much I love this group, asked me to go with them! TSO is the coolest thing since Queen, mixing rock music with operatic instrumentation, it’s a fabulous sound and I have been entranced with the group since they became popular here. This song is a mix of “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and “Carol of the Bells” and remains my favorite off of the album Christmas Eve and Other Stories. 
3 Replies to “Day 144-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 22)”

  1. Love your choices! I have to add to mine(in no real order, just can’t put them in order) Wham ” Careless Whisper” and Goyte: Someone I used to Know, Yaz: (Upstairs at Eric’s) Midnight, America: Sister Golden Hair, Tom Cochrane : Good Times we had, Cher: Believe, I love Spirit in the Sky! Used to dance to it all the time..and something corny..Caribbean Queen…Then we get into Queen, Led Zep, Pink Flyod…ect…. Great taste in music Kim!!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

