Day 146-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 24)

img_0637

Aww, why they wanna bring us down, right here on Christmas Eve?

I have already talked about the most difficult time in my life recently, so I don’t want to spend a lot of time on it here today. Besides, I don’t want to feel sad today…that being said, my difficult time, of course was my Mom passing away. And the whole month before that.

I was living in Groves, Tx. still, and came back here to be with her for the last few weeks of her life. She had developed dementia, and was not making any sense, so I couldn’t really talk to her and figure out what she was thinking and feeling. That was hard. She was in a lot of pain the last two weeks and I felt helpless to do anything to help her. Then, the last week, (all of this took place in a nursing facility close to my home now) hospice came in and started giving her morphine and said we couldn’t feed her anymore. Waiting for her to slowly die like that was excruciating, and painful and sad. Her organs had shut down, which is something that happens at the end of the disease she had, once you go off of dialysis. She spent the last few days in sort of a coma like state and when she passed away I felt relief for her that it was over, yet profoundly sad that she was really gone.

Not having her here makes the holidays sad, but I know she is in a better place, pain free and waiting for me in Heaven.

We all deal with difficult times in our life, some way we make it through. I know its sad to talk about but it helps to heal. So, let me hear about yours if you are doing this challenge or if you simply want to comment. Have a wonderful holiday with your family today, hold them close and cherish the ones your with. 🙂

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 146-31 Day Blog Challenge-(Day 24)

  1. msgt3227 says:

    Have much pain in my heart this Christmas, but prefer not to share it on the internet… But, Merry Christmas Kim!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have a saying in my room that says “You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have!” Through every difficult time I have had in my life (which has been a lot) I have learned something and that is that I cannot do it all by myself! I would be nothing without my faith, thank you Jesus! I am so glad that you came! Merry Christmas Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    Ditto! Merry Christmas Kim to you and your family!! ❤ T.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

