Day 167-Free Days-Sharing My Work

Good morning everyone, and welcome to a chilly, rainy day here on the patio! It’s been a busy week for writing this week, I accomplished all of my “assignments” and made the decision somewhere during the week to lower my daily word count goal to something a bit more achievable, since there aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done that needs to be done. Can you feel me? I had previously set it for 1700 words in hopes that by Oct I would be ready for NaNoWriMo, however, I decided to make it a more manageable 1000 words. This seems to be a good fit for me and I made it most days this week. I came to this decision after reading a piece on Medium about the more prolific writers out there and how they managed to become that way with daily word counts as low as 500 a day! It’s all about setting goals that are so manageable, you won’t burn out and you will be more likely to stick to.

img_0710

I was thrilled to see my Weekly Knob story got published this week, since they are going through some changes on that publication. The word prompt was “watch” and my story was entitled The Most Beautiful Thing. Go check it out if you have time and read some of the other wonderful stories there. I believe it’s KimSmyth@Medium.com, or you can go to Medium.com and find me on The Weekly Knob. I also write on 100 Naked Words daily- although that’s a different kind of writing, not story telling, more of a journal type or insights of my day kind of thing. I was also happy to have accomplished a difficult form of poetry called an acrostic, and my piece is on Chalkboard, another Medium publication. It’s called Heaven’s Star and is a sort of tribute to the late Debbie Reynolds. I so enjoyed the challenge that I did another one (not published yet) over at The Creative Cafe, and when they publish the collection, my piece is called Pride and Ego,Β and is part of a collection dealing with the monsters inside of us. I have been working hard and learning a lot and I’m hoping my writing will improve as I go along. Practice, practice, practice.

We have nothing much planned for this weekend, due to the icky weather and Dave having some kind of upper respiratory nastiness. I hope you have better weather where you live and if not, take time to catch up on some reading or writing yourselves!

I’ll be researching more information for Wednesday’s Medical Minute if anyone wants more information on the subject of medical marijuana, or if not, I can take on something else. I’m still going to research it because it’s of great interest to me and I want to learn as much as I can in case it ever becomes available in my state.

Also, I want to thank you all for reading, following, and responding to my posts and providing feedback-it really means the world to me! I would like to ask you please to unfollow and then re-follow me, for some reason ( a yahoo glitch) lots of you are finding your way into my junk mail instead of my regular email. I appreciate you helping me fix this and I hope it works!

I’m sure the highlight for this weekend will be Sunday’s game featuring the Dallas Cowboys and the Greenbay Packers. You know who I’ll be rooting for, lookout CheeseHeads, lol! Have a great weekend everyone, see you tomorrow on the patio!

 

 

21 Replies to “Day 167-Free Days-Sharing My Work”

  1. I thought “Heaven’s Star” was fabulous! I have never encountered an acrostic before, and admire the creativity and intelligence it requires! I also enjoyed “The Most Beautiful Thing”, and am hoping you will continue the story…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you got out and got them ordered. Maybe a strap will help you keep them on, if that’s the issue. Thanks for checking out the story, I was surprised, as I barely got it submitted in time!

      Like

  2. I tried the “Buddha Cream” on my lower back for the muscle/nerve pain and it took less then 5 mins. to actually work! Wow! unbelievable! Roxy and I had a great conversation on it… it has 200mg of THC and it comes in a 30 ml container for $25 here in Canada.also made in Canada ! (all natural and all organic & lab tested) made with Shea Butter, Coconut Butter, and a touch of mint (I think)…. made by MissEnvy.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! I’m interested in the CBD oil and what it can do, I’m also a vaper and am interested in that as a delivery method. It would be great to be able to get off of my medication I take for my neck/back nerve pain. Is the cream you’re using anti-psychoactive? That is, you get pain relief but no high.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No getting high….darn! lol.. I’ve tried the CBD oil and I doubt you’d like it..it tastes awful and you get high..(if it’s the same stuff I’m thinking of) it was called Angel Tears?? I think…

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It is Canadian so across border laws might be present??.. I’ve also tried the CBD capsules, I had a reaction to them.. (allergic to something in them or the capsule). you feel good, but nothing like being high or stoned..just general well being! You might have to try a few products to find one that works for you….
        Check states that it is legal like Colorado and Oregon.
        It’s not legal here to sell the stuff but the city has given them a license for their business (the cops don’t bother you, it’s a waste of their time) we have 3 or 4 stores… the one we go to is the most professionally run and very very pharmacutically run. You have to fill out a form explaining the reason you think the MM would help you, listing your ailments ect… and you get a card that you have to show every time you enter with your ID…
        My sister-in-law in the next province (Alberta) had to get her doctors permission and fill out a long big government form and she gets her stuff from a Government lab (sent to her via mail in Alberta) but it’s not very good! When they where here this summer I gave her some products and she liked them so much for her pain I made her go in and sign up ( it didn’t matter that she was out of Province) and she stock piled for her trip home!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I bought my cream from the “Leaf Compassion Club” (LeafCompassion.com) that is here on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada…the maker of the cream is Missenvy.ca and is based in Vancouver, BC Canada, you can send emails and ask them questions or follow them on Facebook! Hope that helps? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

Care to comment?

