Day 175-Motivational Monday-Quote from the Duke

First off-praise the Lord, David is out of surgery and the doctor said everything went well and he will keep me posted. He is in recovery and will be moved to a room pretty soon to spend the night. Thank you for all of your prayers!

Today’s quote comes from John Wayne…the Duke to all of his friends. “Courage is being scared to death-but saddling up anyway.” (Or so my coffee cup says, lol.)

I think this applies in the current situation as well as anyone starting out in a new business venture. David was unsure about getting this surgery, but knew it would be the best thing for him, possibly save his life and served as the best treatment option for removing the cancer. He could have put if off, but chose to take action and nip it in the bud.

In my life as a writer, I was scared to get started, scared to “put myself out there”, scared no one would want to hear what I had to say, but went for it anyway and now I’m glad I did. It has given me purpose, helped me meet all kinds of new and interesting people and started me on the road to reaching my goals. I think if we are courageous enough to move past our fear and just do it, we will realize, it wasn’t so scary after all.

What is your interpretation and how do you find the courage? Let me know in the comments and thanks again to all of you who lifted us up in prayer. Special thanks to Pastor Mike Love, who stayed with us until the doctor came out with the post surgical update. Thanks to my brother-in-law also, who came to wait with the family…on his birthday…with an injured back. He was so uncomfortable, but waited with the rest of us until Dave was alert enough to recognize him.

Lucky for me, they provide free wi-fi here at the hospital and I was able to post the updates and do my blog. If I don’t get around to updating tonight, come back tomorrow for Tuesday’s Essay. Have a blessed Monday everyone!

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 175-Motivational Monday-Quote from the Duke

  1. trE says:

    Peace to you, Kim. I am happy to read that surgery went well for your husband. This is great news!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. msgt3227 says:

    So relieved to hear the surgery went well! Keeping you both in my prayers…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was very glad to hear all went well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suze says:

    oh thank goodness! He will bounce back far faster than you will from the stress. Take care of yourself too. Not every bit of energy needs to go to others, you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mrs. Magilla says:

    Praying for you and your family. Thank you for still writing although if you’re anything like me, it’s how you process life best.

    PS: you had me at Duke quotes. Especially that one!

    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

