Day 177- Wednesday’s Medical Minute-

Well we are home from hospital, and now starts the recovery process. Everything went fine until it was time to leave the hospital, which was supposed to happen between 1 and 2 PM, but actually happened at five. Still the process on the whole was a great experience. They can’t help it if the doctor is in surgery at another hospital and his PA is in clinicals all day.

Honestly I haven’t prepared any subject matter for today, and since I didn’t receive any feedback on what y’all might want to talk about, I was thinking maybe I would talk about diabetes today. Since I don’t know much on the subject, I need to do some research. No one in my family has diabetes that I know of, however, Stephanie and her mother both deal with it.

Only you know your body, and since the symptoms can be gradual or sudden, noticing changes is your signal that you may need to be checked out.

If you are experiencing symptoms like unexplained weight loss, excessive thirst or hunger, fatigue, frequent urination, blurred vision, and nausea or vomiting, you need to be checked by your physician.

Diabetes can cause excessive thirst

Diabetes can cause excessive thirst

Diagnosing diabetes starts with a random plasma glucose test in which fasting is not necessary. If your results are equal to or greater than 200 milligrams per deciliter, this is an indicator that you may have diabetes. Your doctor will schedule another random test or a fasting glucose test to determine if you need a glucose tolerance test. Normal fasting glucose level should be between 60 and 99 but your doctor can’t confirm a diagnosis of diabetes until two fasting plasma glucose tests measure 126 or greater.

Sometimes people with diabetes can have a normal fasting plasma glucose test. If your doctor still suspects you may have diabetes he may order a glucose tolerance test. This is a fasting test where you drink a liquid that has a known amount of glucose following an eight hour fast. Your blood will be drawn prior to drinking the drink and then again  two hours later. If your glucose numbers fall between 140mg/dl and 199mg/dl, you will be diagnosed as pre diabetic. If your numbers are equal to 200 or above, this indicates you have diabetes.

Since everyone’s case is different, your doctor will determine the best treatment for you. The main goal is to ensure your sugar stays as normal as possible, this could be managed with diet or insulin replacement therapy.

These are just a few basic facts that can get you started if, like me, you know nothing about the disease. My goal for the day was to just provide a jumping off point to those people not already dealing with this disease.

I’m trying to be a good caregiver right now, so my writing will take a back seat- I will still get something done everyday, it may just sound scattered or maybe that’s just my brain at the moment. Y’all let me know if you have a better topic for next week, and I’ll see you tomorrow for Throwback Thursday!

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 177- Wednesday’s Medical Minute-

  1. Suze says:

    the BEST test for diabetes is the A1C blood test. It is a non-fasting test so no need to worry about eating or drinking anything prior to taking it. It checks your average blood sugars over the past six months. anything over a 6.0 is a diabetes score with an automatic diagnosis. I am “pre-diabetic” with a 5.8 A1C score. I am currently taking low dosage medication to hopefully reverse the process before diabetes develops. I also have a specific diet that is low carb. Diabetes sometimes doesn’t show ANY symptoms until is becomes insulin deprived and your pancreas is damaged. Don’t wait for the thirst, dizziness, loss of weight before being tested. those usually occur with an A1C of 6.5 or above. ANYONE that is obese, is a smoker, has a family history or a sedentary lifestyle needs to be checked.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. msgt3227 says:

    Thanks for covering diabetes Kim! I would just add there are differing “types” of diabetes: Type 1 (formerly known as Childhood Onset…I contracted Type 1 at age 30). Type 2 (formerly known as Adult Onset). Gestational – occurs to a woman during pregnancy, then usually self-corrects. With type 1, the body can no longer produce insulin ~ subject requires insulin therapy to control. (I use an insulin pump, was taking several shots daily before that). With type 2, the body may either make limited amounts of insulin, or use the insulin sub-optimally. May be controlled with diet, exercise, oral medications, or insulin injections.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      Thank you Kevin for your input as well! Between you and Suze, y’all could answer any questions that arise! Maybe Stephanie will join the convo with her two cents, and the subject will have been sufficiently covered!

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

