Day 186-Flash Fiction Friday-Writing Room

img_0756

Sandra, a writer, was strolling through the antique shop one day, when her eyes landed on an odd looking lamp. She picked it up and turned it over in her hands, thinking to herself that it looked a lot like that magical lamp in Aladdin. But that’s just silly, she told herself and placed it back on the table. As she turned to leave, she noticed out of the corner of her eye a small tendril of smoke had emitted from the end of the lamp. With eyes wide and an incredulous stare, she stood there as the tendril became a form in the shape of a man, just like in the movie!

“Well, don’t just stand there with your mouth hanging open” the genie said, “I’m here to grant you three wishes, you’d better make them good, cause I’ll be headed back in the lamp for another one hundred years when you’re done.” Sandra stood stammering, disbelieving her eyes and ears, yet she started thinking of what she really desired quickly, before he could disappear. The genie seemed to float right in front of her, patiently waiting with his arms crossed while she struggled to come to a decision. Before she could say a word, he reached up and thoughtfully tugged on one of his earrings, and suggested to her that the time was running short. “Ok, ok, I’ve got it,” Sandra sputtered, ” I want a new writing room! One with a large desk, window to look out of and the most comfortable chair I ever sat in!”

The genie considered this for a moment and said, “That’s easy. Consider it done, your wish is my command. Next?” Sandra had not thought that far ahead, yet being a caring soul, she decided to make a wish for her husband and asked, “Would it be too much to give my husband a million dollars, so he can retire and never have to work again?” “Absolutely, the genie said, your wish is my command. One more.” Sweating now, Sandra struggled for something else to wish for, she had never been given this type of power and she didn’t want to waste it. On top of that, she was a simple person and never lived beyond her means-it was hard for her to come up with something she wanted on the spot like that. Finally an idea came to her and she said, “I’d love for there to be no sickness in the world and no war either.”

“Who do you think I am, God?” the genie asked with his hands on his imaginary hips, “You had better just write a good story in that fabulous new room of yours where you imagine that perfect world, I’m just a simple genie and can’t make that kind of thing happen.” And with that, he disappeared back into the lamp, gone again for another hundred years. Sandra could not believe what just happened and thought to herself, “Well that was just rude! At least he granted me a new writing room and the joy of having my husband home with me all the time. Maybe the genie is right, I’ll write a story about how we can achieve world peace and when it becomes a best seller, I’ll take the royalties and donate them to science so they can find a cure for all illnesses. She sure was idyllic, this Sandra.

When she returned home, she say the genie had indeed granted her wishes, the writing room was everything she could have dreamed of and more, painted in her favorite colors of the ocean, with floor to ceiling bookshelves, a huge desk in an L shape, so she and her husband could both use it, a glorious window, perfect for viewing the neighborhood, and the most comfortable chairs she ever sat in. As she stood there marveling, her husband walked in and said, “You are never gonna believe what happened today!” Sandra just looked at him and with a wink she said, “Wanna bet?”

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 186-Flash Fiction Friday-Writing Room

  1. That was really cute! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ladybuggz says:

    Can I borrow the Genie??? lol…:)

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

